Educational Services Registration Instructions


DCEA Logo


What's New


Agendas & Open Meeting Documents
Training
Energy Code
Manufactured Housing
Forms and Publications
Free Online Codes
Lists
Technical Information
Contact Us

Join our Mailing List
For the latest information on Code enforcement and administration, law and regulation changes, technical bulletins, information on other state agency actions related to Codes, product and equipment safety, and public hearing schedules, subscribe to our E-Bulletins

Educational Services Training Program Registration Instructions

Please read the following instructions carefully to avoid any delay in processing your registration.


INSTRUCTIONS

Please read the following instructions carefully to avoid a delay in the processing of your application form.  An application form must be submitted for the courses you want to attend.  You will not be automatically enrolled in subsequent courses once you have completed the prerequisite course unless you have applied for them.

Registration Form:

  • The form must be typed or printed legibly.  Illegible applications will not be processed.
  • The entire form must be completed.  Incomplete forms may require us to return your application for completion and delay your registration into the requested course(s).
  • Phone registrations will not be accepted.
  • Application forms must be received at least 21 days prior to the scheduled starting date of the course for which you are applying.
  • A confirmation letter will be sent to you upon acceptance into the course. Do not plan to attend unless confirmation of registration has been received or verified by this office.  You will not be allowed into class unless you are preregistered and have been confirmed to attend.
  • Please do not contact the Department of State to check on your registration status unless you have not been notified within 14 calendar days of the class starting date.

Prerequisites:

Participants must complete the course prerequisites as indicated in the course listing.

Fees:

Courses conducted in Schuyler County (at the NYS Fire Academy in Montour Falls) require a registration fee of $25.  (The registration fee for out-of-state residents is $50 per course.)   Registration fees are non-refundable. When you are confirmed for the class, you will receive payment instructions.  Do not send payment with your application form.  There is also a Commuter Fee of $8 per day for individuals not requesting lodging at the Academy.  The Commuter Fee includes breakfast and lunch. The Commuter Fee may be paid upon arrival.  
A registration fee is NOT required at any other location.

Materials: 

A hand-held calculator, paper and pencils are required.

  • Workbooks are available on our website at www.dos.state.ny.us/code/workbooks.htm and may be downloaded and printed prior to attending these courses.  While a workbook is not a requirement, it may be to your advantage to have one available during the class presentation to assist in following the course material, minimize the need for excessive note-taking and possibly for reference during the examination at the conclusion of the course.  Therefore, due to the fact that the use of computers during the courses is not permitted, downloading and printing these documents is highly recommended.

  • New York State Uniform Code and Energy Code Supplements are required for the basic training courses.  These supplements include New York State Amendments to the International Codes.  A link for both of these supplements is available by going to the following site on our web page: http://www.dos.ny.gov/dcea/CodeUpdate.html (The supplements are located at the bottom of the page.)

  • Uniform and Energy Code Books are required for each of the basic training courses.  Please use the table below to determine which books are needed for each course. Under the title of the basic training course, an X is provided next to each code book that will be used in that course.  Please note that you must have the exact edition or printing of each book as indicated below. Please contact the International Code Council at 1-800-786-4452 to order these books.

Inventory Item#

Required Code Books for Basic Courses

Course 9A16

Course 9B16

Course
9C16

Course
9D16

Course
9E16

Course
9F16

3000S15NY

2015 International Building Code, 3rd printing as adopted by New York State

X

X

 

X

 

X

3100S15NY

2015 International Residential Code, 2nd  printing as adopted by New York State

 

 

 

X

X

 

3400S15NY

2015 International Fire Code, 3rd edition as adopted by New York State

 

X

X

 

 

X

3800S15NY

2015 International Energy Conservation Code, 2nd edition as adopted by New York State

 

 

 

X

 

X

3550S15NY

2015 International Existing Building Code, 5th  printing as adopted by New York State

 

 

X

 

 

 

3500S15NY

2015 International Property Maintenance Code, 4th  printing as adopted by New York State

 

 

X

 

 

 

3200S15NY

2015 International  Plumbing Code, 3rd  printing as adopted by New York State

 

 

 

X

 

X

3300S15NY

2015 International Mechanical Code, 3rd  printing as adopted by New York State

 

 

 

X

 

 

3600S15NY

2015 International Fuel Gas Code, 3rd edition as adopted by New York State

 

 

 

X

 

 

Registration forms for all courses should be mailed, faxed or emailed to the following address:

New York State Department of State
Division of Building Standards and Codes
One Commerce Plaza, 99 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12231
Fax: (518) 474-5788
Email:dosCodesTraining@dos.ny.gov

To add your name to our electronic mailing list, please visit our web site at: www.dos.ny.gov/DCEA/

Registration Form (PDF)
Training Program Overview
Course Descriptions