
 

New York State 
DEPARTMENT OF STATE 
STATE ATHLETIC COMMISSION  
123 William Street Telephone: (212) 417-5700 
New York, NY 10038-3804  www.dos.ny.gov/athletic 

APPLICATION FOR PROFESSIONAL SECOND 
Read the instructions carefully before completing the 
application. Incomplete applications will be returned, 
delaying licensure. Any omission, inaccuracy or failure to 
make full disclosure in an application or supporting 
documentation may be deemed sufficient reason to deny a 
license, or, if a license is issued could result in the 
suspension or revocation of a license.  

What is a professional second? 
A professional boxing second is one who is knowledgeable 
in and assists a professional boxer in treatment of injuries, 
physical conditioning, health care, nutrition, training, first 
aid, effects of drugs and alcohol and the bandaging of a 
boxer’s hand (19 NYCRR § 207.28). 

How do I become a licensed professional 
second? 
You must first schedule an appointment for a written exam 
by contacting (212) 417-5700 or take the exam on an open 
test date. Once you have passed your written exam you 
will be provided with instructions on how to complete the 
fingerprinting process. After you have taken your 
fingerprints you must submit the attached application to 
the Commission. Please do not return this application until 
you have passed the written exam.  

If I am a licensed boxer, do I need to take the 
written examination when applying? 
If you are a New York State licensed boxer, the 
Commission may waive the examination requirement. 
(See, 19 NYCRR § 207.28). 

What is the fee and term for a professional 
second? 

The fee for a professional second license is $10.00 and is 
valid until September 30th of the year which the license is 
granted.  
The fee for a professional second permit is $20.00 and is 
valid only for one contest. 

What forms of payment do you accept? 
You may pay by check or money order made payable to 
the: “New York State Athletic Commission”. DO NOT 
SUBMIT CASH WITH YOUR APPLICATION.  

Do I need to complete the Child Support 
Statement section of the application? 

Yes, a Child Support Statement is mandatory in New York 
State (General Obligations Law § 3-503  ).  The law 
requires you to complete this section — regardless of 
whether or not you have children or any support 
obligation. 

 
Any person who is four months or more in arrears in 
child support may be subject to having his or her 
business, professional and driver’s licenses suspended.       
The intentional submission of a false written statement for 
the purpose of frustrating or defeating the lawful 
enforcement of support obligations is punishable under 
§175.35 of the Penal Law.  It is a class E felony to offer a 
false instrument for filing with a state or local government 
with the intent to defraud. 

PRIVACY NOTIFICATION 

Do I need to provide my Social Security 
number on the application? 

Yes. The State Athletic Commission is required to collect 
the Social Security numbers of all licensees. The authority 
to request and maintain such personal information is found 
in §5 of the Tax Law and §3-503 of the General Obligations 
Law. Disclosure by you is mandatory. The information is 
collected to enable the Department of Taxation and Finance 
to identify individuals, businesses and others who have 
been delinquent in filing tax returns or may have 
underestimated their tax liabilities and to generally identify 
persons affected by the taxes administered by the 
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. It will be used for 
tax administration purposes and any other purpose 
authorized by the Tax Law and may also be used by child 
support enforcement agencies or their authorized 
representatives of this or other states established pursuant to 
Title IV-D of the Social Security Act, to establish, modify 
or enforce an order of support, but will not be available to 
the public. A written explanation is required where no 
number is provided. The authority to request this 
information is also provided by 19 NYCRR § 207.7(a)(1). 
This information will be maintained in the Licensing 
Information System by the Commission, at 123 William 
Street, New York, NY 10038-3804. 

Do I need to be fingerprinted to be a licensed 
second?  
Yes, to be a licensed professional second you must be 
fingerprinted (NY Unconsolidated Laws § 8911). Your 
application cannot be approved until your fingerprint results 
have been returned to the Commission.   

 
 

PLEASE DO NOT RETURN THIS COVER PAGE 
WITH YOUR APPLICATION. - THANK YOU -  
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New York State 
DEPARTMENT OF STATE 
STATE ATHLETIC COMMISSION  
123 William Street Telephone: (212) 417-5700 
New York, NY 10038-3804  www.dos.ny.gov/athletic 

APPLICATION FOR PROFESSIONAL SECOND  
Read the instructions before completing this application. 

You must answer each question and PRINT responses in ink. 

Please check the appropriate box: (ONLY ONE)  

I am applying for a license □ (License fee of $10.00 is required; License is valid until September 30th of the year issued). 
OR 

I am applying for a permit  □ (Permit fee of $20.00 is required; Permit valid for only one contest) - If applying for a permit please 
indicate the date of the contest: ______/_______/_______. 
APPLICANT’S NAME                     LAST       FIRST     MI  SUFFIX 

 
 
APPLICANT’S HOME ADDRESS — NUMBER AND STREET (P.O. BOX MAY BE ADDED TO ENSURE DELIVERY)  

  
   
 CITY STATE   ZIP + 4 

 
 
 COUNTY  COUNTRY  

 

 SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (See Privacy Notification) DATE OF BIRTH  (month, day, year) DAYTIME PHONE (REQUIRED; if problem with application) 

    MM / DD / YYYY 

 E-MAIL ADDRESS (REQUIRED) 
 

Background Information — You must complete this section.  If you do not complete it, your application will be returned. 

1)  Have you ever been issued either a New York State Professional Second License or Permit?       Yes      No  
 ➔ IF “YES,” check appropriate box and give date: 

     License  Year(s) Issued: ________________________________________ 

  Permit Year(s) Issued: ________________________________________ 

2) Have you been convicted of a crime or offense (not minor traffic violation), in this state or elsewhere or has any license, permit, 
commission, registration or application for a license, permit, commission or registration - not solely related to boxing - held by or 
submitted by you or a company in which you are or were a principal been revoked, suspended, or denied by any state, territory or 
governmental jurisdiction or foreign country for any reason?        Yes      No  
 ➔ IF “YES,” provide an explanation 

 

 

 

3) Are there any criminal charges (misdemeanor or felony) - not solely related to boxing - pending against you in any court in this 
state or elsewhere? If yes, you must submit a copy of the accusatory instrument (e.g. indictment, criminal information or 
complaint).              Yes     No 

 ➔ IF “YES,” provide an explanation.  
 
 
 
 
4) Has any (not limited to boxing) license or permit issued to you or a company in which you are or were a principal in New York 

State or elsewhere ever been revoked, suspended or denied?         Yes     No 
 ➔ IF “YES,” provide an explanation.  
 
   
 
 

5) At which gym/facility do you currently train (or plan to train)? 
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Child Support Statement — You must complete this section.  If you do not complete it, your application will be returned. 
 “X” A or B, below 

I, the undersigned, do hereby certify that  (You must “X” A or B, below): 

A. □  I am not under obligation to pay child support. (SKIP “B” and go directly to Part A Professional 
Boxing/Second Information). 

B. □  I am under obligation to pay child support. (You must “X” any of the four statements below that are true and 
apply to you): 

  □ I do not owe four or more months of child support payments. 

  □ I am making child support payments by income execution or court approved payment plan or by a 
plan agreed to by the parties. 

  □ My child support obligation is the subject of a pending court proceeding. 

  □ I receive public assistance or supplemental social security income. 

Part A Professional Boxing/Second Information - You must complete this section.                            

If you do not complete it, your application will be returned.  

1. Were you ever a Professional Boxer? Yes □    No □ 
  ➔ IF “YES,” please provide details of prior Boxing experience (including licensing information):        

 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

2. Do you have prior experience as a Second? Yes □    No □ 

➔ IF “YES,” please provide details of prior Seconds experience (including licensing information):     

 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Part B - Applicants applying for a Second License need to complete Part B.  

3. Provide three references with knowledge of your qualifications for a Second license: 
 Name:                                                        Address:                                                     Telephone Number:  

 I. __________________________        _______________________________________      (       ) ______________              

 II. _________________________        _______________________________________          (       ) ______________              

 III._________________________        _______________________________________          (       ) ______________              

2. State other qualifications for license (attach additional papers if necessary): 

 

 

___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Applicant Affirmation — I affirm, under the penalties of perjury, that the statements made in this application are true 
and correct. I further affirm that I have read and understand the provisions of Title 25 of the New York Unconsolidated 
Law and the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder. 

Applicant’s Signature 

X Date:      
IF YOU ARE APPLYING FOR A LICENSE AND WOULD LIKE A PHYSICAL LICENSE MAILED TO YOU CHECK THIS BOX: □ 

Please remember to include with this form any required explanations and  
the appropriate fee (if by check, money order payable to: NYS Athletic Commission). 

FOR COMMISSION USE ONLY: 
License Number: ______________________        
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