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New York State 
DEPARTMENT OF STATE 
Division of Licensing Services  
P.O. Box 22001          Customer Service:  (518) 474-4429 
Albany, NY 12201-2001                          www.dos.ny.gov 

Hearing Aid Business Application 
Please take the time to read the instructions in this package 
carefully before beginning the application form.  Incomplete 
forms will be returned, delaying licensure. Any omission, 
inaccuracy or failure to make full disclosure in an application 
may be deemed sufficient reason to deny a license or could 
result in the suspension or revocation, if one is issued 

What is in this package? 
This application package includes all the information and forms you will 
need to apply for registration as a hearing aid  business. A completed 
application will include the completely filled out and signed application 
form, Attachment A if you are requesting registration for multiple office 
locations, and the appropriate fee (see below). 

If the business is a trade name, a business certificate has to be filed in the 
county clerk’s office where the business is located.  If it is a partnership, a 
partnership certificate must be filed in the county clerk’s office where the 
business is located.  If it is a corporation, a certificate of incorporation must 
be filed with the New York State Department of State’s Division of 
Corporations. 

Who must apply for a business registration? 
Registration is required for each permanent business location at which 
hearing aids are dispensed. 

Business applications must be made by the business entity and signed by the 
sole proprietor if the business is owned and operated by an individual; by a 
trustee if the business is a trust; or by an officer or partner if the business is 
an association, corporation, partnership or limited liability company or 
limited liability partnership. 
 Please note that EACH business location that dispenses hearing aids 

must obtain a separate registration and employ at least one 
registered hearing aid dispenser at that location. 

What are the fees and terms of registration? 
The registration fee depends on the number of employees: $150 for each 
business location with 1-10 employees and $200 for each business location 
with 11 or more employees. 

The term of registration is two years. 
 A separate registration will be issued for each business location at which 

hearing aid dispensing is performed.  You must complete Attachment A 
to list each additional location, and then submit the appropriate fee. 

What forms of payment are acceptable? 
You may pay by check or money order made payable to the Department of 
State or charge any fee to MasterCard or Visa, using the enclosed credit card 
authorization form. Do not send cash. Application fees are nonrefundable.  
A $20 fee will be charged for any check returned by your bank. 

Do I need to complete the Child Support Statement section 
of the application? 
Yes, if you are applying as an individual (i.e., as a sole proprietor of a 
hearing aid dispensing business), a Child Support Statement is mandatory in 
New York State (General Obligations Law).  The law requires you to 
complete this section —  regardless of whether or not you have children or 
any support obligation. 

Corporations, partnerships, trusts and limited liability companies or limited 
liability partnerships do not need to sign the Child Support Statement.  

Any person who is four months or more in arrears in child support may 
be subject to having his or her business, professional and driver’s 
licenses suspended.  The intentional submission of a false written statement 
for the purpose of frustrating or defeating the lawful enforcement of support 
obligations is punishable under §175.35 of the Penal Law.  It is a class E 
felony to offer a false instrument for filing with a state or local government 
with the intent to defraud. 

PRIVACY NOTIFICATION 
Do I need to provide my Social Security and federal ID 
numbers on the application? 
Yes. The Department of State is required to collect the federal Social Security 
and Employer Identification numbers of all licensees. The authority to 
request and maintain such personal information is found in §5 of the Tax 
Law and §3-503 of the General Obligations Law.  Disclosure by you is 
mandatory. The information is collected to enable the Department of 
Taxation and Finance to identify individuals, businesses and others who have 
been delinquent in filing tax returns or may have underestimated their tax 
liabilities and to generally identify persons affected by the taxes administered 
by the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. It will be used for tax 
administration purposes and any other purpose authorized by the Tax Law 
and may also be used by child support enforcement agencies or their 
authorized representatives of this or other states established pursuant to Title 
IV-D of the Social Security Act, to establish, modify or enforce an order of 
support, but will not be available to the public. A written explanation is 
required where no number is provided. This information will be maintained 
in the Licensing Information System by the Director of Administration and 
Management, at One Commerce Plaza, 99 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 
12231-0001. 

 

http://www.dos.ny.gov/
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 NYS Department of State  
DIVISION OF LICENSING SERVICES 

P.O. Box 22001 
Albany, NY 12201-2001 

Customer Service: (518) 474-4429 
www.dos.ny.gov 

 HEARING AID BUSINESS APPLICATION 
  APPLIC AT IO N AS (Please check only the statement that applies to the status of your business): 

□ Individual □ Trade N am e □ Corporation  □ Partnership 

□ Limited Liability Company  □ Limited Liability Partnership □ Not for Profit Corporation 
 
  Mark (✔) the selection that describes your business: 

  1  □ 1-10 employees.   Fee due:  $150 

  2.  □ 11 or more employees.   Fee due:  $200 
 
PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE 

BUSINESS NAME 

 
DO NOT WRITE IN THIS AREA 
 
150 
 

 
200 

 
 

PRINCIPAL STREET ADDRESS (REQUIRED) APT./SUITE NO. 
OFFICE 
ADDRESS 

 
CITY STATE ZIP + 4 COUNTY 

 
 

DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBER (IF PROBLEM WITH APPLICATION) DATE OF INCORPORATION FEDERAL ID NUMBER (SEE PRIVACY NOTIFICATION) 
OR ORGANIZATION 

 
 

E-MAIL ADDRESS (IF ANY) 
 
 

NAME OF REGISTERED HEARING AID DISPENSER UNIQUE I.D. NUMBER 
(IF YOUR HEARING AID DISPENSER HAS NOT BEEN ISSUED A REGISTRATION, JUST PRINT NAME) 

 
 

CORPORATION NAME (IF ANY) 
 
 
 
  Background 
  1. Have you ever been convicted in this state or elsewhere of any criminal offense that is a misdemeanor 
 or a felony? 
 ➔ IF “Y E S,” submit a written explanation giving the place, court jurisdiction, nature of the offense, 
 sentence and/or other disposition.  You must provide a copy of the accusatory instrument (e.g., indictment, 
 criminal information or complaint) and a Certificate of Disposition.  If you possess or have received a  
 Certificate of Relief from Disabilities, Certificate of Good Conduct or Executive Pardon, you must provide 
 a copy of same. 
 
  2. Are there any criminal charges (misdemeanors or felonies) pending against you in any court in this state or 
 elsewhere? 
 ➔ IF “Y E S,” you must provide a copy of the accusatory instrument (e.g., indictment, criminal 
    information or complaint). 
 
  3. Has any license or permit issued to you or a company in which you are or were a principal in New York 
 State or elsewhere ever been revoked, suspended or denied? 
 ➔ IF “Y E S,” you must provide all relevant documents, including the agency determination, if any. 
 
  For questions 4-9 please answer only the statement which applies to your particular licensing status. 
  

   YES    or     NO 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 Hearing Aid Business Application 
  

DOS 1445-a (Rev. 11/13)                                                                                                                                                                Page 3 of 6 

 
  4. I am applying as a trade name.  I own this business and the trade name certificate has been filed in the 
 office of the County Clerk where the business is located.  (By signing this application, you are certifying 
 compliance with this requirement.) 
 
  5. I am applying as a corporation. I am an officer of this corporation and the NYS Certificate of  
 Incorporation providing the power to engage in the hearing aid business has been filed with the Department 
 of State. (By signing this application, you are certifying compliance with this requirement.) 
 
  6. I am applying as a partnership. I am a member of this partnership and the Certificate of Partnership has 
 been filed in the office of the County Clerk where the business is located. (By signing this application, 
 you are certifying compliance with this requirement.) 
 
  7. I am applying as a limited liability company. I am a  member  of this limited liability company and a 
 copy of the articles of organization have been filed with the Department of State. (By signing this 
 application, you are certifying compliance with this requirement.) 
 
  8. I am applying as a limited liability partnership. I am a member of this limited liability partnership 
 and a copy of the articles of organization have been filed with the Department of State. (By signing this 
 application, you are certifying compliance with this requirement.) 
 
  9. I am applying as a not for profit corporation. I am an officer of this not for profit corporation and the 
 NYS Certificate of Incorporation providing the power to engage in the hearing aid business has been filed 

with the Department of State. (By signing this application, you are certifying compliance with this 
requirement.) 

 
  10. Have you ever been issued a Hearing Aid Dispenser Business Registration? 
 ➔ IF “Y E S,” If yes, provide the Unique ID Number ______________________________

   YES    or    NO 

 

NOTE:  I understand that no licensed business may engage in the dispensing of hearing aids unless such business employs at 
least one registered hearing aid dispenser at each business location to dispense hearing aids at that location 
[§790(5)(b)(ii), General Business Law]. 

 

  1.   Child Support Statement -  If you are applying as an individual or sole proprietor, you must complete this section. If 
 you do not complete it, your application will not be processed. If you are applying as a corporation, partnership or limited liability 
 company, skip to the applicant affirmation below. 
 “X” A or B, below 

I, the undersigned, do hereby certify that (You must “X ” A or B , below): 
 A . [   ]  I am not under obligation to pay child support. (SK IP “B ” and go directly to Applicant Affirmation). 
 B . [   ]  I am under obligation to pay child support   (You must “X ” any of the four statements below that are true and 
             apply to you):  
               [  ]   I do not owe four or more months of child support payments. 
                         [  ]   I am making child support payments by income execution or court approved payment plan or by a plan  agreed by  
                                 the parties. 
                         [  ]  M y child support obligation is the subject of a pending court proceeding.  
                         [  ]   I receive public assistance or supplemental social security income. 
 
  2.   Applicant Affirmation - (This application must be completed and signed by the principal owner or officer of the 
  business) 

I affirm that I have read and understand the provisions of Article 37-A of the General Business Law and the rules and regulations 
promulgated thereunder (19 NYCRR). I further affirm that Worker’s Compensation Insurance/Disability Benefits, for all 
employees, if applicable, has been secured. I further certify, under the penalties of perjury, that the information given above is true  
to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand that any material misstatement made may result in the revocation or  
suspension of the license if issued. 

 
               Applicant’s Signature                   

              Print Name        

           Applicant’s Title                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      



 

 

  Hearing Aid Business Application 
 
□ ✔box if Attachment A is included (to register branch or other office locations). 

 

 
 
  Please remember to submit as many copies of Attachment A as needed to register each branch 
   
  or office location and the correct  application fee ($150 for each place of business with 1-10  
   
  employees and $200 for each place of business with 11 or more employees). 
 
 
 

 
Number of locations with 1-10 employees    x $150 =    

 
 

Number of locations with 11+ employees     x $200 =    
 
 
 

Total Enclosed     
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A $20 fee will be charged for any check returned by your bank. 
 
 

It is important that you notify this division of any changes to your business address 
 

 so that you can receive renewal notices and any other 
 

notifications pertinent to your license. 
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A 
 
          Hearing Aid Business Application 
                      Branch or Additional Office Locations  
 
APPLICANT BUSINESS NAME (ENTER THE BUSINESS NAME EXACTLY AS SHOWN ON APPLICATION PAGE 1) 
 
 
         ☛  Type or print below the complete address for each BRANCH OFFICE LOCATION for which you seek  
 licensure, include the name and unique identification number of a licensed Apartment Information Vendor 
 who will work or be employed at each location.  You may photocopy this sheet as many times as needed to  
 list every location.  The header information and business name MUST be carried at the top of every page.  
 

NOTE:   No business may engage in the dispensing of hearing  aids unless such organization employs at least one 
   registered hearing aid dispenser at each business location who regularly dispenses hearing  aids at that 
               location [§790(5)(b)(ii), General  Business Law]. 

 
 
BUSINESS LOCATION NUMBER OF   DO NOT WRITE BELOW 
NUMBER AND STREET EMPLOYEES APPLICATION 
 AT LOCATION FEE 150   

 □ 1-10 — $150 
CITY                                                                                               STATE                                             ZIP+4 
 

□ 11+  — $200         200  
COUNTY                                                                                        
 
 
 
NAME OF REGISTERED HEARING AID DISPENSER                                                                             UNIQUE ID NUMBER 
(If your hearing aid dispenser has not been issued a registration, just print name)  
 
 
BUSINESS LOCATION NUMBER OF   DO NOT WRITE BELOW 
NUMBER AND STREET EMPLOYEES APPLICATION 
 AT LOCATION FEE 150   

 □ 1-10 — $150 
CITY                                                                                              STATE                                              ZIP+4 
 

 □ 11+  — $200         200  
COUNTY                                                                                                   
 
 
 
NAME OF REGISTERED HEARING AID DISPENSER                                                                             UNIQUE ID NUMBER 
(If your hearing aid dispenser has not been issued a registration, just print name) 
 
 
BUSINESS LOCATION NUMBER OF                      DO NOT WRITE BELOW 
NUMBER AND STREET EMPLOYEES APPLICATION 
 AT LOCATION FEE 150   

 □ 1-10 — $150 
CITY                                                                                              STATE                                             ZIP+4 
 

 □ 11+  — $200         200  
COUNTY                                                                                                
 
 
 
NAME OF REGISTERED HEARING AID DISPENSER                                                                             UNIQUE ID NUMBER 
(If your hearing aid dispenser has not been issued a registration, just print name) 
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B
 

 
           Hearing Aid Business Application 
                       Principal Owner and/or Officers Information 
 
APPLICANT BUSINESS NAME  (ENTER THE BUSINESS NAME EXACTLY AS SHOWN ON APPLICATION PAGE 1) 
 
 
         ☛  Type or print below the names and addresses of the principal owner or manager of the business and if such owner 
                        is a corporation, the names and titles of the corporate officers; if a partnership, the name and title of the general 
                        partners; if a limited liability company, the name of the members or managers; if a limited partnership, the names 
                       of the partners; if a trust, the name of the trustee; if an association, the principal officers.  You may photocopy this                    
                       sheet as many times as needed.  The header information and business name MUST be carried at the top of every 
                       page.  
 

 
 
PRINCIPAL OWNER/MANAGER 
    
   
      
RESIDENCE ADDRESS (NUMBER AND STREET REQUIRED, PO BOX MAY BE ADDED TO ENSURE DELIVERY) 
 

                                        
CITY                                                                                                                  STATE                                              ZIP+4                                                                      COUNTY  
 

 
 
OFFICER  
   

   
TITLE 
 

 
OFFICER  
   

   
TITLE 
 

 
OFFICER  
   

   
TITLE 
 

 
OFFICER  
   

   
TITLE 
 

 
OFFICER  
   

   
TITLE 
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