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New York State 
DEPARTMENT OF STATE 
Division of Licensing Services  
P.O. Box 22001          Customer Service:  (518) 474-4429 
Albany, NY 12201-2001                          www.dos.ny.gov 

Proprietary Security Guard Employer 
Please take the time to read the instructions in this package carefully 
before beginning the application form. 

When would I be required to submit a Proprietary Security 
Guard Employer form? 
Any private or public entity employing individuals, other than peace and 
police officers, to perform security services is regulated by the New York 
State Department of State. 

Do Security Guards employed by proprietary entities need 
to register and complete training? 
Yes. Although proprietary employers of security guards are exempt from the 
business licensing requirement, they are still considered to be Security Guard 
Companies under the law. As such, they are required to employ registered 
security guards and provide proof of self-insurance or liability insurance 
coverage. A proprietary employer must designate a Security Guard 
Coordinator to provide the Department of State with the necessary 
information. 

What is a Security Guard? 
A Security Guard is defined as: Any individual who is employed to 
principally perform any or all of the following duties, and the person is not 
performing the functions of a private investigator as defined in Section 71 of 
Article 7 of the General Business Law. 

• Prevention, protecting persons and/or property from harm, theft, 
and/or unlawful activity, including response to a security system 
alarm; or 

• Deterrence, such category shall include: deterring, observing, 
detecting and reporting unlawful or unauthorized activity; or 

• Control, controlling, by street or other patrol service, access to 
property, including employee personnel, visitors, vehicles and 
traffic; or 

• Enforcement, enforcing security policies, rules, regulations, and 
procedures; or 

• Any individual who is employed to perform any or all of the above 
duties, irrespective of whether such duties constitute a principal 
part of such individual’s employment, with the condition of such 
employment being that s/he is armed with a weapon. 

 

 

 

 

 

“Security Guards” do not include doorperson, superintendent, handyperson, 
porter, elevator operator, private investigator, proprietary investigator, 
telephone operator, lifeguard, school crossing guard, receptionist, clerical 
person, resident advisor or assistant, parking lot attendant or assistant, fire 
safety director or fire inspector, fireguard, environmental safety person, or 
any other title which shall not require such person, to perform any or all of  

the above functions more than 50% of the person’s regularly scheduled work 
hours. 

Do I need to have insurance? 
Yes. Section 89-g sub. 6 of Article 7A requires the filing of a certificate of 
insurance evidencing comprehensive general liability coverage in the 
minimum amount of $100,000 per occurrence and $300,000 in the aggregate. 

What are the fees? 
No fee is required to file this application. However, the appropriate fee must 
accompany each security guard application filed with the Department of 
State. 
PRIVACY NOTIFICATION 
Do I need to provide my Social Security and Federal ID 
numbers on the application? 
Yes. The Department of State is required to collect the federal Social Security 
and Employer Identification numbers of all licensees. The authority to 
request and maintain such personal information is found in §5 of the Tax 
Law and §3-503 of the General Obligations Law. Disclosure by you is 
mandatory. The information is collected to enable the Department of 
Taxation and Finance to identify individuals, businesses and others who have 
been delinquent in filing tax returns or may have underestimated their tax 
liabilities and to generally identify persons affected by the taxes administered 
by the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. It will be used for tax 
administration purposes and any other purpose authorized by the Tax Law 
and may also be used by child support enforcement agencies or their 
authorized representatives of this or other states established pursuant to Title 
IV-D of the Social Security Act, to establish, modify or enforce an order of 
support, but will not be available to the public. A written explanation is 
required where no number is provided. This information will be maintained 
in the Licensing Information System by the Director of Administration and 
Management, at One Commerce Plaza, 99 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 
12231-0001. 

http://www.dos.ny.gov/
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Proprietary Security Guard Employer 

 
BUSINESS INFORMATION 

NYS DEPARTMENT OF STATE 
DIVISION OF LICENSING SERVICES 

P.O. Box 22001 
ALBANY, NY  12201-2001 

License Fee 
Exempt 

 

Please PRINT CLEARLY in blue or black INK using ALL CAPITAL LETTERS. Example: 
 
Federal Taxpayer ID: 

 
 
Business 
Name: 

 
 
(See instructions - Privacy Notification) 

 
 
 
 
Business 
Address: 

STREET ADDRESS (Required - PO Box may be added below to ensure delivery) 
 
 
 
APT/UNIT/PO BOX 

 
 

CITY 
 
 

STATE ZIP-CODE ZIP + 4 

- 
 

COUNTY 
 
 

PHONE NUMBER (Including Area Code) 

( ) - 
 

E-MAIL ADDRESS - IF ANY 

FAX NUMBER - IF ANY (Including Area Code) 

( ) - 
 
 
 
 
 

1.   I have attached proof of self-insurance or liability insurance coverage . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
 

2.   I have attached the certificate of insurance evidencing comprehensive general liability coverage in the minimum amount of 
$100,000 per occurrence and $300,000 in the aggregate . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . 

YES NO 

 

 
Coordinator’s 
Name: 

 
LAST NAME 
 

 
 
FIRST NAME 

 
 
 
 
MIDDLE NAME 

 
 

NAME SUFFIX  

(e.g., Sr / Jr / III) 
 

Entities exempt from the licensing requirement of Article 7 must comply with all other sections of Article 7A and all rules and regulations 
promulgated thereof. 

X   
Applicant’s Signature Date Signed 

 
Below: Please enter any Unique Identification Number(s) previously assigned to the business by the Division of Licensing Services: 

 
 
 
 

 
 

Applicant please initial in box 


