
New York State 
Department of State 

Division of Licensing Services 
Appearance Enhancement 

P.O. BOX 22049             
Albany, NY 12201-2049 

Customer Service: (518) 474-4429       
www.dos.ny.gov  

Natural Hair Styling Application 
 

 
For a faster and easier process, the Division of 
Licensing Services encourages applicants to apply 
online. Using online services provides a quicker 
turnaround time on your application and updates and it 
allows you to view and access your license records 
throughout the license process. 
 
Visit our website at:  www.dos.ny.gov 
 
Please see the online section of these instructions for 
more information. 
 
Read the instructions carefully before completing the 
application. All fields are mandatory, incomplete 
applications will be returned, delaying licensure. Any 
omission, inaccuracy or failure to make full disclosure in 
an application or supporting documentation may be 
deemed sufficient reason to deny a license, or, if a license 
is issued could result in the suspension or revocation of a 
license. 

 
What does the practice of Natural Hair Styling cover? 
The practice of Natural Hair Styling means providing for a fee 
(or any consideration or exchange, whether direct or indirect), 
any of the following services to the hair of a human being: 
shampooing, arranging, dressing, twisting, wrapping, weaving, 
extending, locking or braiding the hair or beard by either hand 
or mechanical appliances. Such practice shall not include 
cutting, shaving, or trimming hair except that such activities 
are permissible to the extent that such activities are incidental 
to the practice of Natural Hair Styling. Such practice shall not 
include the application of dyes, reactive chemicals, or other 
preparations to alter the color or to straighten, curl, or alter the 
structure of the hair. Techniques which result in tension on hair 
roots such as certain types of braiding, weaving, wrapping, 
locking and extending of the hair may only be performed by a 
Natural Hair Styling or cosmetology licensee who has 
successfully completed an approved course of study in such 
techniques. 

 
Who must apply for a Natural Hair Styling license? 
Any person practicing Natural Hair Styling as described above 
is required by law to have a Natural Hair Styling license. A 
Natural Hair Styling license will not permit you to operate a 
business; a separate business application must be completed 
and a separate business license obtained. 
 
What qualifications and supporting documents do I 
need to apply for licensure? 
If you are at least 17 years old, you may apply for a Natural 
Hair Styling license based on: 
 
1) New York State Education and Examinations (eligible
 for temporary license) 

You must complete a 300 hour approved course of study 
and pass both the New York State written and practical 
examinations to get a license to operate in this state. 

As proof of successful completion of schooling, you must 
have the Affirmation of New York State Approved 
Schooling section of the application completed by your 
school director. 

For an online application using NYS License Center, you 
must enter the curriculum code listed on your school 
certificate.  Schools participating in the online certification 
program will affirm the completion of the course for the 
student through NYS License Center.  For schools that are 
not participating in the online certification program, you 
must upload your school certificate when you have 
reached the “Affirmation of NYS Schooling” section of 
the online application.  The system will notify you which 
method is required based on the curriculum code selected. 

After your application is reviewed and accepted, you will 
receive an email that explains the examination process in 
detail. 

 
2) Education Outside of New York State or the United States 

(eligible for temporary license) 

 We may waive the New York State schooling requirement 
if you can document an equivalent level of schooling from 
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another state or country. You must submit all three of the 
following documents: 
 
(1) a school certificate; 
 
(2) a school transcript listing subjects and hours 

completed; 
 AND 

 
(3) a current Certification of Licensure from your state 

board or, if not licensed, a current Certification from 
your state’s board verifying the hours claimed. 

  
  After your application is reviewed and accepted, you will 

also be required to pass both the New York State written 
and practical examinations to obtain a Natural Hair Styling 
license in this state. You will receive information that 
explains the exam process in detail. 

 
3) Experience: 5 years outside New York State 
 Any individual having five years of legal experience in a 

occupation equivalent to natural hair styling may apply 
for a New York State license by submitting satisfactory 
evidence of education and experience. 

 Within the United States experience: 
 (1) An original certification from the licensing agency                   

you were previously licensed with.   
 

 (2) Two experience statements filled out by former 
employers, co-workers, clients, that can claim your    
experience in the state for at least five years. These 
experience statements must include EXACT dates  
(month and year of start of service and month and 
year of end of service), location (city, state, shop 
name) and specific services that you performed. 

 

 (3)  Copy of tax returns which indicate natural hair 
styling as occupation. 

  
 Outside of the United States experience: 
        Evidence may include but is not limited to: 
   

 (1)  Official certification from the licensing authority              
in your country or verification from the Consulate 
that a license is not required to practice this 
occupation in your 

 
 (2) Detailed letters from employer(s) in your country 
 specifying EXACT dates of employment, location and 
 specific services that you performed. 

 (3) Detailed letters from your client(s), or coworker(s), in 
  your country specifying EXACT dates of 
service, location and specific services you performed.  

 
 (4)  Copy of passport which indicates natural hair styling 

as occupation, drivers’ license, workbook with natur-
al hair styling experience, or any photo identification.  

 
 (5)  Copies of course curricula and diplomas/certificates 

for education completed in your country. 
  
 (6)  Copy of tax returns which indicate natural hair 

styling as occupation. 
 

 After your application is reviewed and accepted, you 
may obtain a Natural Hair Styling license in New York 
State without examination or further education. 

 
 4)   Endorsement 

An applicant who holds a Natural Hair Styling license in 
another jurisdiction may obtain a Natural Hair Styling 
license in New York through endorsement without 
examination or further education. Refer to our website 
www.dos.ny.gov for a Natural Hair Styling endorsement 
list to determine if you qualify for licensure based on 
endorsement. 

An applicant must submit an original certification from the 
jurisdiction where s/he holds an equivalent license. 

 
5) Previous New York State Licensure 
 An individual who fails to file an application and fee for 

renewal within five years of the expiration date cited on 
the individual’s license shall be ineligible for such license  
until he/she passes a written exam. Proof of previous 
licensure may be required. 

 
Why do I need to provide my email address on the 
paper application? 
Your email address will be used to create your NYS License 
Center account.  Most communications will be sent via email.  
If you change your email address in the future you will need to 
log into your account and update it with the new email address. 
 
How do I schedule my examination once my 
application has been approved? 
Scheduling exams will only be available through your online 
account. 
 
Once your application has been approved you will receive an 
email notifying you that you may now schedule your exam. If 
you applied online through the NYS License Center you will 
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be able to log into your account to schedule your examination. 
If you applied submitting a paper application to the Division of 
Licensing Services, the email will be sent to the email address 
you included in your application. If you have indicated that 
you require special testing arrangements, you will be contacted 
by a representative from the Division of Licensing Services to 
have your examinations scheduled for you. 
 
I am a licensed Barber in New York State. Do I qualify 
for a Natural Hair Styling license? 
If you are a duly licensed Barber in New York State, you may 
apply for a Natural Hair Styling license without additional 
education or examination. Simply submit this application and 
$40 application fee. 
 
Can I work before passing the state exams? 
Yes. Two six-month temporary licenses are available to 
applicants who want to work while completing the examina-
tion process. Only applicants applying based on  education 
obtained in New York State or the United States are eligible for 
a temporary license. Applicants may apply for a temporary 
license renewal once they have passed either the written or 
practical examination. Once you pass both examinations, a 
four-year license will be issued. 
 
What are the fees and terms of licensure? 
$40 - Original application license fee (for all applicants). For 
          those applicants who are not required to pass the 
          examinations (e.g., applying based on five years of legal 

experience or as a licensed Barber), this is the only fee 
that is required. 

$10  - 6 month temporary license fee. 
$10 -  6 month temporary license renewal fee (separate  
          application). 
 
Please Note:  If applying for an original application and a 
temporary license, you may submit one $50 application fee. 
Separate application fees are not required. 
 
The term of licensure is four years. The term for a tempo-
rary license is 6 months. 
$15  -  Exam  fee  (to  be  collected when you schedule your  
examination online). 
 
What forms of payment do you accept? 
You may pay by check or money order made payable to the 
Department of State or by American Express, MasterCard or 
 

Visa, using a credit card authorization form or when you apply 
online. Do not send cash. Application fees are 
nonrefundable.  A $20 fee will be charged for any check 
returned by your bank. 
 
Do I need a physical to be licensed? 
Yes. You need to be examined by a physician, physician’s 
assistant or nurse practitioner to apply for a license in Natural 
Hair Styling. Your physician, physician’s assistant or nurse 
practitioner must complete and date the Health Certification 
Section of the application or the Health Certification Form 
(DOS-1948) if you are applying online. You must submit your 
application within 30 days after the certification is signed and 
dated. 
 
Child Support Statement 
A Child Support Statement is mandatory in New York State (General 
Obligations Law) regardless of whether or not you have children or 
any support obligation. Any person who is four months or more in 
arrears in child support may be subject to having his or her 
business, professional and driver’s licenses suspended. The 
intentional submission of a false written statement for the purpose of 
frustrating or defeating the lawful enforcement of support obligations 
is punishable under §175.35 of the Penal Law. It is a class E felony to 
offer a false instrument for filing with a state or local government 
with the intent to defraud.  
 
Information on Online Services: 
For a faster and easier process, the Division of Licensing 
Services encourages applicants to apply online.  Using 
online services provides a quicker turnaround time on your 
application and updates and it allows you to view and 
access your license records throughout the license process. 
 
For more complete instructions and other online information 
see the FAQ’s at http://www.dos.ny.gov/licensing/lc-faq.html 
 
What transactions and information are available 
online? 

● Complete an initial application 
● Check the status of an application  
● Renew your license 
● Schedule an examination and view the results 
● Check the status of a license 
● Amend license information 
● Request a duplicate license 
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How do I register for an account within the NYS 
License Center (NYSLC)? 
In order to register for an account within the NYS License 
Center (NYSLC), you must first register with My NY.gov. 
If you are not currently registered with My NY.gov, go to the 
My NY.gov registration site at 
https://aca.licensecenter.ny.gov/aca/ and click on the ‘I need a 
NY.gov ID’ link and follow the registration for My NY.gov.  
Once you are registered with My NY.gov, select the NYS 
License Center option from the options available to you on My 
NY.gov. In the NYS License Center, click on the ‘Account 
Management’ link in the top right hand corner. Complete the 
required fields and this data will pre-populate on all new 
applications created using your account. Once you have 
completed and saved this data, click on the ‘Home’ tab to 
proceed. 
 
What if I already have a My NY.gov Account? 
If you are already registered with My NY.gov, go to My 
NY.gov and sign in, then select the NYS License Center 
option from the options available to you on My NY.gov. This 
will create your NYS License Center Account. In the NYS 
License Center, click on the ‘Account Management’ link in the 
top right hand corner. Complete the required fields and this 
data will pre-populate on all new application created using 
your account. Once you have completed and saved this data, 
click on the ‘Home’ tab to proceed. 
 
How do I apply for a license in NYS License Center?  
To apply for a license at NYS License Center, you must create 
an account or login to your existing account. Follow these 
steps to apply for your license online: 

● Register for an Account or Login to your 
account (see “How do I register for an account 
within the NYS License Center (NYSLC)” 
above)’ 

● Once you are logged in to NYS License Center, 
on the ‘Home’ tab select ‘Apply now for a new 
license or permit’ 

● Follow the application instructions provided 
online 

● Upload any supporting documentation 
● Make payment and print confirmation page 

You will be able to log in to your account and view the status 
of your application. 
 
How do I create an additional license online? 
To apply for an additional license, login to your account and 
click on the ‘Manage My Licenses’ tab and then select the 
‘Apply now! For a New License or Permit’ link. Read and 
accept the terms and conditions and the system will guide you 
from there. 
 

How do I renew a license online? 
If you have an existing NYS License Center account, three 
months before your license is due to expire you will receive a 
renewal notice via email.  The email contains a link to your 
account. Click on the link and proceed through the renewal 
application. 
 
If you do not have an existing account on NYS License Center, 
you will receive your renewal notice via mail three months 
before your license is due to expire. This notice will contain 
instructions for creating an account on NYS License Center. 
 
What is my User ID for the online system? 
When you create your account on My NY.gov, you will create 
a unique user ID and use your email address. You will then be 
able to access your account via user ID. 
 
How do I update my online account information? 
There are two locations you are required to update your online 
account information.  You need to update your data at My 
NY.gov and on your NYS License Center account. 

At My NY.gov, see the FAQs for information on managing 
your account. 
Login to your NYS License Center account, on the top row 
you will see a link titled ‘Manage My Licenses’. From there 
you will be able to update your account information by 
completing a contact change amendment. 
 
I am applying online, how do I notify this department 
of my physical examination? 
All applicants need to be examined by a physician, physician’s 
assistant or nurse practitioner to apply for a license in Natural 
Hair Styling.  The license application must be submitted within 
30 days after an examination by a physician, physician’s 
assistant or nurse practitioner and must include their name and 
contact information on the application.  The Health 
Certification Form (DOS-1948) must be completed and can be 
downloaded from the Department of State website.  
 
On your online application using NYS License Center, you 
must utilize the information contained on the completed Health 
Certification form.  You are required to enter information from 
this form into the health certification fields within the system. 
 
Please note:  This completed Health Certification Form is 
subject to audit by an investigator to ensure compliance with 
this requirement.  Evidence of this form must be maintained on 
your work premises for audit purposes. 

DOS 1321-f-a (Rev. 6/15) Page 4 of 8 

https://aca.licensecenter.ny.gov/aca/


Natural Hair Styling Application 
 

 
PRIVACY NOTIFICATION 
Do I need to provide my Social Security and Federal 
ID numbers on the application? 
Yes, if you have a social security number or Federal ID 
number, you are required to provide this number.  If you do not 
have a social security number or Federal ID number, please 
provide a written explanation. 
 
The Department of State is required to collect the federal  
Social Security and Employer Identification numbers of all 
licensees. The authority to request and maintain such personal  
information is found in §5 of the Tax Law and §3-503 of the 
General Obligations Law.  Disclosure by you is mandatory.The  
information is collected to enable the Department of Taxation 
and Finance to identify individuals, businesses and others who 
have been delinquent in filing tax returns or may have 
underestimated their tax liabilities and to generally identify 
persons affected by the taxes administered by the 
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. It will be used for tax 
administration purposes and any other purpose authorized by 
the Tax Law and may also be used by child support 
enforcement agencies or their authorized representatives of this 
or other states established pursuant to Title IV-D of the Social 
Security Act, to establish, modify or enforce an order of 
support, but will not be available to the public. A written 
explanation is required where no number is provided. This 
information will be maintained in the Licensing Information 
System by the Director of Administration and Management, at 
One Commerce Plaza, 99 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 
12231-0001. 
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  FOR OFFICE            APPLICATION NUMBER                            FEE   $40 or $50 
USE ONLY             AENHS-A-____ - ______________ 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       New York State 
Department of State 

Division of Licensing Services 
Appearance Enhancement 

P.O. BOX 22049             
Albany, NY 12201-2049 

Customer Service: (518) 474-4429       
www.dos.ny.gov  

Natural Hair Styling Application 
Read the instructions before completing this application. You must answer each question and PR IN T  
responses in ink.  
Please select one of the following qualifying choices. 
I am applying for licensure ($40 application fee required) based on: 
 
 1.  New York State Education and Examinations (completion of a 300 hour approved course of study) 
 2.  Previous New York State Natural Hair Styling Licensure – License UID #                               Expiration Date 
 3.  Education outside of New York State or the United States  
 4.  Experience:  5 years outside of New York State or the United States      State                                      Country 
 5.  Endorsement – Enter name of state  
 6.  New York State Barber Operator Licensure – License UID #                                                     Expiration Date 
  
If you selected choice 1, 2 or 3 from above, you may apply for a six month temporary license (requires an additional $10 fee) which allows you  
to practice while taking the New York State Exams. 
 
 I am requesting a six month temporary license.  ($40 + $10 = $50 application fee required) 
 
If you selected choice 1, 2 or 3 from above, you will be emailed a link to schedule an examination once your application has been approved. 
 
              I require special testing arrangements. 
If you have a learning disability or any physical, mental or psychological disability and request special testing arrangements, you must submit a 
completed “Special Testing Arrangements Request” Form (DOS-1591) with your application.  You must also submit supporting 
documentation from a physician, other qualified professional or evidence of prior accommodations from a school or other institution describing 
your condition and an explanation of any modifications requested.  Once your application has been approved, you will be contacted by a NYS 
Licensing representative to schedule your examination. 
 
 Applicant Information 
 

First Name Last Name Middle Name Suffix 

Home Address (provide street number and street name) Suite, Apt., Unit 

City State Zip+4  County                      Country 

Mailing Address (provide PO Box here) 

City State Zip+4 County                      Country 

E-Mail Address Social Security Number Federal Taxpayer ID 

Date of Birth  Home Phone Mobile Phone Business Phone 
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Health Certification – You must submit this application within 30 days after your physical examination. 
 
I am a duly licensed physician, physician assistant or nurse practitioner and in the course of a routine examination of the person named on this 
application on                                              (Date of Physical Examination), I found no clinical evidence of the presence of infectious or 
communicable disease which would pose a significant risk or direct threat to the health or safety of members of the public in the conduct of the 
applicant’s occupation.  
 
Print Name of Physician 
 
 
Address of Practice 
 
    
                                      
   
 
Physician’s Signature                                                                                                                                      Date 
 

 
 
Child Support Statement  
By signing this application, I certify that as of the date of this application, I am not under an obligation to pay child support OR if I am under 
an obligation to pay child support, I am not four or more months in arrears in the payment of child support, or I am making payments by 
income execution or by court agreed payment or repayment plan or by plan agreed to by the parties or my child support obligation is the 
subject of a pending court proceeding, or I am receiving public assistance or supplemental security income. 

Applicant Affirmation – I affirm, under the penalties of perjury, that the statements made in this application are true and correct.  I 
further affirm that I have read and understand the provisions of Article 27 of the General Business Law and the rules and regulations 
promulgated thereunder. 
 
 
 
 
X 
     Applicant’s Signature                                                                                                             Date 
 
 
If you are applying based on New York State Education and Examinations, your school’s director or principal must 
complete the following: 
 
Affirmation of New York State Approved School   
 

School name 

School address (provide street number and street name) 

City State Zip+4 

School Curriculum Code (Five digit numerical code assigned by NYS Department of State) 

School Director’s or Principal’s name in full (print) Title (Director or Principal) 

Applicant’s name in full (print) 
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I subscribe and affirm under the penalties of perjury that the above-named school is duly licensed pursuant to §5001 of the Education 
Law and/or approved by the Board of Regents of the State of New York.  The person named on this application has successfully completed a 
300 hour approved course of study on (date)                                             . 
 
 
 
 
    
   Signature of School Director/Principal Date   

 
School Seal 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

Please remember to include with this application any required explanations and statements along with your 
application fee (payable to NYS Department of State) — $50 for application and temporary license; OR $40  

for application only. A $20 fee will be charged for any check returned by your bank. If you wish  
to pay by credit card, please visit our website at www.dos.ny.gov to obtain a credit card  

authorization form to complete and return with this application. 
 

It is important that you notify this division of any changes to your residence and email address so  
you can receive renewal notices and any other notifications pertinent to your license. 
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