You must have submitted your completed application to the Division
of Licensing Services and received an admission card/notice before walking in to take the waxing exam. Refer to schedule below to find
the most convenient location, date and time for you to take an upcoming
exam. A Waxing License will be issued when you pass the written exam.
Seats are limited and assigned on a first-come/first-served basis. If you are late, you will not be admitted into the exam.
All applicants will be thumb printed prior to taking the exam.
Cellular phones, beepers and any other electronic devices MUST be turned off during the exam.
Dictionaries, books, other reference materials, large bags and briefcases are not allowed at the test center. Do not bring these materials to the test center as there is no place to store them.
Eating, drinking or smoking is not permitted at the test center. If you bring food or beverages, you will be asked to dispose of them before entering the test center.
Visitors, guests and children are not permitted at the test center.
Any person found using notes, books, or other aids; giving or receiving help; removing examination materials or notes from the test center; causing a disturbance or engaging in practices contrary to the rules of proper examination conduct will be dismissed from the test center. Any decisions regarding disciplinary measures will be made by the Exam Supervisor at the Department of State.
You must correctly answer at least 70 percent of the questions to pass the exam. However, all exam results are reported as either passed or failed; you will not get a numerical score.
You will be notified by mail as soon as your exam results are available. Results are not given over the phone, so please do not call Licensing Services for them.
If you pass the written exam, you will receive your license in the mail.
If you fail the written exam, you will receive a notice in the mail. You may retake the written exam using the same exam admission card/notice from the first exam. Exam schedules are updated in January and July of each year.
The exam is multiple choice, based on the 75-hour prelicensing curriculum.
Exam topics include: New York State laws, rules and regulations governing appearance enhancement license law, safety and health issues; hazardous materials communication; methods of infection control; infections and infectious agents; histology of the skin and its function; skin conditions and disorders; hair structure and function related to hair removal; and methods of hair removal.
Applicants will be allowed 2½ hours to complete the test. The allotted time begins at the conclusion of the instructions.
Test sites and times are subject to change and exams may be canceled due to weather conditions or other emergencies. If hazardous weather conditions exist in your area, you may call 518-474-4429 to see if an exam has been canceled. Please do not call the test centers listed below.
If you need assistance or exam information, you may contact a Division of Licensing Services office in your area or call the Albany phone center at 518-474-4429. TDD users may contact the New York State relay operator at 1-800-662-1220. Persons with disabilities who require accessibility information may call 518-473-2731.
No one will be admitted to an examination after the specified starting time.
Note: Exams are no longer conducted in Watertown.
On the following MONDAYS at 1:30 p.m.
Alfred E. Smith State Office Building
80 South Swan Street
Albany, New York 12239
(Located at the corner of Washington Avenue and South Swan Street)
BINGHAMTON (State Office Bldg.)
44 Hawley Street, 15th Floor
BUFFALO (State Office Building)
65 Court Street, Main Floor Hearing Room, Part 5
FRANKLIN SQUARE (VFW Hall)
68 Lincoln Road, Basement (N6 Bus Route on Hempstead Turnpike)
From the East, take the Southern State Parkway to Exit 16N, Franklin Ave.
From NYC/West, take the Cross Island Parkway SOUTH to the Southern State Parkway EAST. Take exit 15, Franklin Ave., turn left at the 2nd light onto Franklin Ave.
On Franklin Ave., turn RIGHT onto Hempstead Turnpike and go 5 blocks. Turn LEFT onto Lincoln Rd. (7-Eleven on corner). The VFW Hall and parking lot are on the RIGHT.
HAUPPAUGE (Perry Duryea State Office Building)
250 Veterans Memorial Highway
Basement Conference Room
Note: Building sits back off highway. Look for the green sign near the road.
NEW YORK CITY
123 William Street, 2nd Floor
ROCHESTER (Finger Lakes DDSO)
620 Westfall Road
Take NYS Thruway to Exit 46, take 390 North to exit 16, turn RIGHT on East Henrietta Road, turn right at 2nd traffic light onto Westfall Road, Finger Lakes DDSO is on LEFT. Park in lot on right. Do Not enter through main lobby. Look for Sign, "New York State Testing."
SYRACUSE (State Office Building)
333 E. Washington Street, Main Floor, Hearing Room A
UTICA (State Office Bldg.)
207 Genesee Street 1st Floor, Room 107
On the following TUESDAYS at 9:30 a.m.
From Clinton Community College, 136 Clinton Point Dr., Plattsburgh, NY 12901 US:
Start out going west on Clifton Point Dr. (go 0.06 miles),
turn left to stay on Clifton Point Dr. (go 0.08 miles),
turn right to stay on Clifton Point Dr. (go 0.58 miles).
Turn right onto US-9 (go 1.17 miles).
Turn left onto Connecticut Rd (go 0.79 miles).
Turn right onto Idaho Ave (go 0.29 miles).
Take the 1st right onto Dormitory Dr.,
14 DORMITORY DR, PLATTSBURGH, NY 12903 is on the right.