Hearing Aid Dispenser Continuing Education

Hearing Aid Dispenser Continuing Education Course Providers

Below you will find an alphabetical list of schools that have submitted their course work to this office and have received approval to offer hearing aid dispenser continuing education for hearing aid dispenser licensees. The address listed for a school is their business address and may not always be the location where the school offers their courses. You should contact the school to obtain the address where the course is presented.

Approved courses vary in length from 1 to 20 hours and are offered within a class room setting.

Please note that course approval is issued on an annual basis, therefore, you should contact the phone number for that particular school to verify whether the school has renewed their program for the current period. You may also contact the Department of State, Division of Licensing Services at (518) 474-4429 to obtain this information.

Listed below is information pertinent to the offering of hearing aid dispenser continuing education courses:

Hearing aid dispensers must successfully complete twenty hours of approved continuing education every two years prior to renewal.

A dispenser who is additionally licensed as an audiologist, must successfully complete four hours of continuing education. Such hours relating to the dispensing of hearing aids may be earned in satisfaction of the continuing education requirements of continued licensure as an audiologist under article 159 of the Education Law.

*please see important information below

A registrant who completes a course of study offered outside of New York State, which course has not been approved by the Department of State, may file an equivalency application along with official documentation of satisfactory completion, and the official description of the course.

Instructors of approved hearing aid dispenser qualifying or continuing education courses may be awarded one hour of continuing education credit for each hour of instruction during a registration cycle. Credit shall not be awarded for teaching the same course more than once in a registration cycle. Instructors must submit evidence of such experience with an equivalency application.

Please Note: The Department of State does not approve nor accept distance learning courses for credit.

* IMPORTANT INFORMATION

Effective with licenses that expire on or after July 1, 2009, all licensed Hearing Aid Dispensers must complete 20 hours of Department of State approved continuing education. At least two of these hours must include the topic of infection control and at least one hour must include New York State and Federal law, regulations and professional conduct. All courses must be approved by the Department of State.

Hearing Aid Dispensers who are also Audiologists licensed by the Department of Education must complete four hours of hearing aid dispenser related topics in which at least two hours must include the topic of infection control and at least one hour must include New York State and Federal law, regulations and professional conduct. Such hours may be earned in satisfaction of continued licensure under article 159 of the Education Law, as long as the registrant demonstrates completion of the required topics.

Hearing aid dispenser courses of study are approved and supervised by the Department of State. All inquiries and complaints against approved educational providers should be directed to the Bureau of Educational Standards.

HEARING AID DISPENSER CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE PROVIDERS

AMERICAN ACADEMY OF AUDIOLOGY
8300 GREENSBORO DRIVE, SUITE 750
MCLEAN, VA 22102-3611
(703) 790-8466

AMPLIFON USA
5000 CHESHIRE LANE
PLYMOUTH, MN 55446
(763) 268-4074

AUDINA HEARING INSTRUMENTS INC.
165 E WILDMERE AVENUE
LONGWOOD, FL 32750
(407) 331-0077

BELTONE ELECTRONICS CORP
4201 WEST VICTORIA STREET
CHICAGO, IL 60646
(800) 621-1275

BUFFALO HEARING AND SPEECH CENTER
50 E. NORTH STREET
BUFFALO, NY 14203
716-885-8871

THE CHILDREN'S HEARING INSTITUTE
380 SECOND AVE 9th FLOOR
NEW YORK, NY   10010
(646) 438-7858

CLEAR SOUND INC
206 HENRY STREET
KINGSTON, NY 12401
(845) 338-8686

COLUMBIA-GREENE COMMUNITY COLLEGE
4400 ROUTE 23
HUDSON, NY   12534
(518) 828-4181

COSTCO HEARING AID CENTER
999 LAKE DRIVE
ISSAQUAH, WA 98027
(425) 313-6693

DIVERSIFED SERVICES LLC
2565 ELMWOOD AVE
KENMORE, NY   14217
(716) 871-9883

EAR Q GROUP INC
1900 WEST GENESEE STREET
SYRACUSE, NY 13204
(315) 468-1082

THE HEARING CARE GROUP
C/O B. R. AUDIOLOGY & COUNSELING
165 NORTH VILLAGE AVENUE, SUITE 119
ROCKVILLE CENTRE, NY 11570
(516) 764-2094

HEARING HEALTHCARE ALLIANCE OF NY INC
3 WOODBRIDGE TERRACE
FAIRPORT, NY 14450
(585) 419-9702

HEARx
1250 NORTHPOINT PARKWAY
WEST PALM BEACH, FL   33407
(561) 478-8770

INTERTON AHA
8001 BLOOMINGTON FRWY
BLOOMINGTON, MN   55420
(800) 247-4741

LONG ISLAND SPEECH-LANGUAGE-HEARING ASSOC
PO BOX 133
MASTIC BEACH, NY   11951
(516) 478-5814

MICRO EAR TECHNOLOGY INC
6425 FLYING CLOUD DR
EDEN PRAIRIE, MN   55344
(952) 947-4509

OTICON INC
29 SCHOOLHOUSE ROAD
SOMERSET, NJ 08875-6724
(800) 227-3921

PERSONA MEDICAL
170 N CYPRESS WAY
CASSELBERRY, FL 32707
(407) 339-2422

ROCHESTER HEARING & SPEECH CTR
1000 ELMWOOD AVE STE 400
ROCHESTER, NY    14620
(585) 271-0680

SIEMENS HEARING INSTRUMENTS INC
10 CONSTITUTION AVENUE
PISCATAWAY, NJ 08855-6154
(800) 766-4500

SONIC INNOVATIONS
2795 EAST COTTONWOOD PARKWAY, SUITE 660
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84121-7036
(812) 343-0278

STARKEY LABORATORIES
6600 WASHINGTON AVENUE SOUTH
EDEN PRAIRIE, MN 55344
(800) 328-8602

UNITRON HEARING
2300 BERKSHIRE LANE
PLYMOUTH, MN 55441
(888) 888-8882

WIDEX HEARING AID COMPANY
35-53 24TH ST
LONG ISLAND CITY, NY  11106
(800) 221-0188