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New York Black Car Operators’ 

Injury Compensation Fund, Inc. 

§160-cc.  Definitions 

As used in this article: 

 1. “Black car operator” means the registered owner of a for-hire vehi-

cle, or a driver designated by such registered owner to operate the regis-

tered owner’s for-hire vehicle as the registered owner’s authorized design-

ee, whose injury arose out of and in the course of providing covered ser-

vices to a central dispatch facility that is a registered member of the New 

York Black Car Operators’ Injury Compensation Fund, Inc. 

 2. “Board” means the Workers’ Compensation Board. 

 3. “Central dispatch facility” means a central facility, wherever locat-

ed, that 

 (a)   dispatches the registered owners of for-hire vehicles, or drivers 

acting as the designated agent of such registered owners, to both 

pick-up and discharge passengers in the State, and 

 (b)  has certified to the satisfaction of the Department of State that 

more than 90 percent of its for-hire business is on a payment ba-

sis other than direct cash payment by a passenger; provided, 

however, that a central dispatch facility shall not include any 

such central facility that owns 50 percent or more of the cars it 

dispatches. 

 4. “Covered services” means, with respect to dispatches from or by a 

central dispatch facility located in the State, all dispatches from such cen-

tral dispatch facility regardless of where the pick-up or discharge occurs, 

and, with respect to dispatches from or by a central dispatch facility locat-

ed outside the State, all dispatches involving a pick-up in the State, regard-

less of where the discharge occurs. 

 5. “Department” means the Department of State. 

  6. “Fund” means the New York Black Car Operators’ Injury Compen-

sation Fund, Inc. 

 7. “Fund liability date” means the earlier of: 

 (a)  the date as of which the board first approves the Fund’s applica-

tion to self-insure pursuant to §160-ii(2) of this article, or  

 (b)  the date on which coverage commences under the initial insur-

ance policy purchased by the Fund pursuant to §160-ii(3) of this 

article. 

 8. “Local licensing authority” means the governmental agency in the 

State, if any, that is authorized to license a central dispatch facility. 

 9. “Secretary” means the Secretary of State. 

§160-dd.  New York Black Car Operators' Injury 

Compensation Fund, Inc. 

There is hereby created a Not-for-Profit Corporation to be known as the 

New York Black Car Operators’ Injury Compensation Fund, Inc. To the 

extent that the provisions of the Not-for-Profit Corporation Law do not 

conflict with the provisions of this article, or with the plan of operation 

established pursuant to this article, the Not-for-Profit Corporation Law 

shall apply to the Fund, which shall be a Type C Corporation pursuant to 

such law. If an applicable provision of this article or of the Fund’s plan of 

operation relates to a matter embraced in a provision of the Not-for-Profit 

Corporation Law but is not in conflict therewith, both provisions shall 

apply. The Fund shall perform its functions in accordance with its plan of 

operation established and approved pursuant to §160-gg of this article and 

shall exercise its powers through a board of directors established pursuant 

to this article. 

§160-ee.  Supervision of central dispatch facilities 

A central dispatch facility shall, with respect to the provisions of this arti-

cle, be subject to the supervision and oversight of the Department and the 

local licensing authority, if any, as provided in this article. 

§160-ff.  Management of the Fund;  board of 

directors 

 1. Within 30 days of the effective date of this article, there shall be 

appointed a board of directors of the Fund, consisting of nine directors, 

five of whom shall be selected by the Black Car Assistance Corporation; 

three of whom shall be chosen by the Governor, including one chosen 

upon the recommendation of the temporary president of the senate and one 

chosen upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the Assembly; and one 

of whom shall be the Secretary, who shall serve ex officio. The initial 

terms of directors other than the Secretary shall be staggered, the three 

directors appointed by the Governor serving for initial terms of three years 

from the effective date of this article, three of the remaining five directors 

serving for initial terms of two years from the effective date of this article 

and two directors serving for initial terms of one year from the effective 

date of this article. The subsequent terms of all directors other than the 

Secretary shall be three years. The board shall have the power to remove 

for cause any director other than the Secretary. 

 2. The directors shall elect annually from among their number a chair 

and a vice chair who shall act as chair in the chair’s absence. 

 3. For their attendance at meetings, the directors of the Fund shall be 

entitled to compensation, as authorized by the directors, in an amount not 

to exceed $200 per meeting per director and to reimbursement of their 

actual and necessary expenses. 

 4. Directors of the Fund, except as otherwise provided by law, may 

engage in private or public employment or in a profession or business. 

 5. (a) All of the directors shall have equal voting rights and five or 

more directors shall constitute a quorum. The affirmative vote 

of five directors shall be necessary for the transaction of any 

business or the exercise of any power or function of the Fund.  

 (b)  The Fund may delegate to one or more of its directors, officers, 

agents or employees such powers and duties as it may deem 

proper. 

 (c)  A vacancy occurring in a director position for which the Gover-

nor was the original appointing authority shall be filled by the 

Governor, upon the recommendation of the legislative official, 

if any, that was authorized to recommend the original appointee 

pursuant to subdivision one of this section. A vacancy occurring 

in a director position for which the Black Car Assistance Corpo-

ration was the original appointing authority shall be filled by the 

Black Car Assistance Corporation. A vacancy in any one or 

more of the director positions shall not prevent the remaining di-

rectors from transacting any business, provided a quorum is pre-

sent and voting. 

 (d)  At the expiration of a director's term, the authority that appoint-

ed such director pursuant to subdivision one of this section or 

paragraph (c) of this subdivision shall re-appoint such director 

for an additional term or appoint a new director for such subse-

quent term, provided however that no individual may serve as 

director for more than three successive terms. 
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§160-gg.  Plan of operation 

 1. Within 75 days of the effective date of this article, the Fund shall file 

with the Department its plan of operation, which shall be designed to as-

sure the fair, reasonable and equitable administration of the Fund. The 

plan of operation and any subsequent amendments thereto shall become 

effective upon being filed with the Department. 

 2. The plan of operation shall constitute the by-laws of the Fund and 

shall, in addition to the requirements enumerated elsewhere in this article: 

 (a)  establish procedures for collecting and managing the assets of 

the Fund; 

 (b)  establish regular places and times for meetings of the Fund’s 

board of directors; 

 (c)  establish the procedure by which the Fund shall determine 

whether to provide the benefits due pursuant to this article by 

self-insuring or by purchasing insurance; 

 (d)  establish accounting and record-keeping procedures for all fi-

nancial transactions of the Fund, its agents and the board of di-

rectors; 

 (e)  establish a procedure for determining and collecting the appro-

priate amount of surcharges and assessments under this article; 

 (f)  set forth the procedures by which the Fund may exercise the 

audit rights granted to it under this article; 

 (g)  establish procedures to ensure prompt and accurate notification 

to the Fund by its members of all accidents and injuries to black 

car operators, and provide for full reimbursement of the Fund by 

any central dispatch facility whose failure to provide such noti-

fication results in the imposition of a penalty on the Fund by the 

board; and 

 (h)  contain such additional provisions as the board of the Fund may 

deem necessary or proper for the execution of the powers and 

duties of the Fund. 

§160-hh.  Membership in the Fund; registration 

with the Department 

 1. The membership of the Fund shall be composed of all central dis-

patch facilities. Each central dispatch facility shall be required, as a condi-

tion of doing business within this state, to pay the Department a $200 an-

nual fee for the purpose of registering as a member of the Fund and receiv-

ing a certificate of registration. Such sums shall be used by the Depart-

ment for the administration of this article. The initial registration fee shall 

be due no later than 90 days after the effective date of this article. The 

Department shall have the power to assess an additional fee against each 

registrant in the amount necessary to provide it with sufficient funds to 

cover its expenses in performing its duties pursuant to this article. The 

Department shall provide the Fund with an updated list of registrants on a 

monthly basis. 

 2. All central dispatch facilities shall be required, as a condition of 

obtaining or retaining their license from the local licensing authority, if 

any, to 

 (a)  be members of the Fund; 

 (b)  be registered with the Department as members of the Fund; and 

 (c)  submit to the local licensing authority a copy of its certificate of 

registration as proof of such membership and registration. 

 3. Within 60 days of the effective date of this article, the board of the 

Fund shall, on the basis of information from trade papers, local licensing 

authorities and other sources, identify the central dispatch facilities subject 

to this article and, on a regular and ongoing basis, confirm that all such 

entities have registered in accordance with subdivision one of this section. 

 4. The Fund shall, within 75 days of the effective date of this article, 

provide to its members a copy of the proposed plan of operation filed with 

the Department and shall inform its members of their rights and duties 

pursuant to this article. 

§160-ii.  Securing of compensation 

 1. Within 210 days of the effective date of this article, the Fund shall 

secure the payment of workers’ compensation to all black car operators 

entitled thereto pursuant to this chapter by either: 

 (a)  self-insuring in accordance with §50(3) of the Workers’ Com-

pensation Law and the rules promulgated by the board pursuant 

to such section or 

 (b)  purchasing workers’ compensation insurance covering, on a 

blanket basis, all black car operators who are the Fund’s em-

ployees pursuant to §2 of the Workers’ Compensation Law. 

 2. If the Fund initially seeks to apply to the board for authorization to 

self-insure pursuant to §50(3) of the Workers’ Compensation Law, it shall 

submit its application and accompanying proof to the board within 150 

days of the effective date of this article. The board shall notify the Fund 

and the Secretary in writing of any change in the Fund’s status as a self-

insurer or of any additional requirements that the board may deem neces-

sary for continuation of such status. 

 3. If the Fund chooses to secure the payment of workers’ compensation 

pursuant to the Workers’ Compensation Law by purchasing an insurance 

policy from the State Insurance Fund or a licensed insurer, it shall file with 

the Department no later than 30 days after the commencement of a new 

policy year a copy of the policy it has purchased. In such case, the De-

partment shall be treated by the insurer as a certificate holder for purposes 

of receiving notice of cancellation of the policy. 

 4. No provision of this article shall be construed to alter or affect the 

liability under the Workers’ Compensation Law of any central dispatch 

facility with respect to black car operators prior to the Fund liability date. 

§160-jj  Assessment of fund members; customer 

surcharges; audit powers of the Fund, the board and 

the Fund’s insurer  

 1. To pay: 

 (a)  the costs of the insurance purchased pursuant to §160-ii(3) of 

this article or  

 (b)  the benefits due under the workers’ compensation law in the 

event the Fund self-insures pursuant to §160-ii(2) of this article, 

and to pay 

 (c)  its expenses in carrying out its powers and duties under this 

article and 

 (d)  its liabilities, if any, pursuant to §14-A of the Workers’ Com-

pensation Law, the Fund shall ascertain by reasonable estimate 

the total funding necessary to carry on its operations. 

 2. Based upon its estimation of operating costs, the Fund shall establish 

a proposed uniform percentage surcharge to be added to  

 (a)  the invoices or billings for covered services sent to the custom-

ers of the Fund’s members by a member or its agent and 

 (b)  the credit payments for covered services received by a member 

or its agent. The proposed surcharge shall become effective 30 

days after being filed with the Department. Notwithstanding the 

foregoing, beginning on the first day of the first calendar month 

that shall commence at least 75 days after the effective date of 

this article, and until the Fund shall have filed with the Depart-

ment a different surcharge amount, a three percent surcharge 
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shall be added to every invoice or billing for covered services 

sent by a member or its agent to, and every credit payment for 

covered services received by a member or its agent from, the 

customers of the Fund’s members. Each member of the Fund 

shall be liable for payment to the Fund of an amount equal to the 

product of 

   (i) the percentages surcharge due pursuant to this article, divided 

by 100 and 

   (ii) all payments received by the member or its agent for cov-

ered services from the member’s customers, as provided in this 

subdivision, regardless of whether the surcharge was billed or 

charged. 

 3. No local licensing authority or the Department shall issue, continue 

or renew any license or registration certificate for the operation of any 

central dispatch facility unless such central dispatch facility, as a condition 

of maintaining its license and/or registration certificate, adds the surcharge 

required by this section to every invoice and billing for covered services 

sent to, and every credit payment for covered services received from, its 

customers and pays to the Fund no later than the 15th day of each month 

the total surcharges due pursuant to this article. 

 4. Each central dispatch facility shall submit to the Fund with its 

monthly payment a detailed accounting of the charge and surcharge 

amounts charged to and received from customers for covered services 

during the previous month. The first such payment and accounting shall be 

due on the 15th day of the month following the imposition of the sur-

charge pursuant to subdivision two of this section. 

 5. Should the Fund determine that the surcharge amounts that have 

been paid to it are inadequate to meet its obligations under this article, it 

shall determine the surcharge rate required to eliminate such deficiency 

and shall file such revised surcharge rate with the Department in accord-

ance with subdivision two of this section. Commencing 30 days after such 

filing, the members of the Fund shall charge the revised surcharge rate and 

shall pay to the Fund the total amount of surcharges in accordance with 

this article. 

 6. The Fund shall have the power directly or through its agent to con-

duct financial audits of its members to verify their compliance with the 

requirements of this article. The Fund or its agent shall be afforded con-

venient access at all reasonable hours to all books, records and other doc-

uments of its members that may be relevant to such audits. 

 7. For the purposes of conducting payroll audits, an insurer providing 

coverage to the Fund pursuant to this article may treat the members of the 

Fund as policyholders. Members of the Fund shall be required to do all 

things required of employers pursuant to §131 of the Workers’ Compensa-

tion Law, and shall be required to provide the board access to any and all 

records and information as otherwise required by the Workers’ Compensa-

tion Law and the regulations promulgated thereunder, and shall be liable 

as provided in the Workers’ Compensation Law for any failure so to do. 

§160-kk.  Financial oversight of the Fund 

No later than May 1 of each year, the Fund shall submit to the Governor 

and Legislature certified financial statements prepared in accordance with 

generally accepted accounting principles by a certified public accountant. 

The members of the Fund shall be required on and after January 1 of each 

year to afford the certified public accountant convenient access at all rea-

sonable hours to all books, records and other documents, including but not 

limited to invoices and vouchers, necessary or useful in the preparation of 

such statements and in the verification of the monthly statements submit-

ted to the Fund. 

§160-ll.  Exemption from taxes 

The Fund shall be exempt from payment of all fees and taxes levied by 

this State or any of its subdivisions, except taxes levied on real property. 

§160-mm.  Liability insurance 

The Fund shall purchase such insurance as is necessary to protect the Fund 

and any director, officer, agent or other representative from liability for 

their administration of the Fund, and shall, to the extent permitted by law, 

indemnify such directors, officers, agents or other representatives and hold 

them harmless from liability for their administration of the Fund.  

§160-nn.  Regulations 

The Department shall adopt regulations implementing the provisions of 

this article, including the conduct and notice of hearings held pursuant to 

§160-oo of this article. 

§160-oo.  Violations; penalties; appeals 

 1. (a) if the Secretary believes a violation of this article by a Fund 

member may have occurred, the Secretary shall notify the local 

licensing authority of such fact and, upon notice to the Fund 

member, a hearing shall be held by such local licensing authori-

ty to determine whether such violation occurred. In the absence 

of a local licensing authority, or if the local licensing authority 

chooses not to hold such hearing, the hearing shall be held by 

the Secretary. 

 (b)  If the Fund believes that a central dispatch facility has failed to 

pay the Fund the assessments due pursuant to this article, or has 

failed to pay the reimbursement due pursuant to §160-gg(2)(g) 

of this article, it shall make a referral to the a local licensing au-

thority, or, in the absence of a local licensing authority, to the 

Department. Upon receipt of such a referral, the local licensing 

authority or the Department shall be required to hold a hearing 

pursuant to paragraph (a) of this subdivision. 

 2. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a Fund member that is 

found, after a hearing held pursuant to subdivision one of this section, to 

have violated a provision of this article, or a rule promulgated by the De-

partment pursuant to this article, shall be liable for a fine in an amount not 

to exceed $10,000 per violation. Notwithstanding the foregoing, a Fund 

member that fails to bill or that collects and fails to submit to the Fund the 

required surcharges shall be subject, in addition to payment to the Fund of 

the amount overdue plus interest on such amount as herein provided, to a 

penalty, at the discretion of the local licensing authority, if any, or, in the 

absence of such authority, of the Department, of  

 (a)  up to $5,000 for each 20 days the payment is overdue, or  

 (b)  revocation of its membership in the Fund and of its certificate of 

registration, or  

 (c)  both a monetary penalty and revocation of its membership in the 

Fund and of its certificate of registration. The rate of interest 

applicable pursuant to this section shall be 12 percent per an-

num. Any monetary penalty imposed pursuant to this subdivi-

sion shall be retained by the Department or the local licensing 

authority and be used to defray the costs of administering this 

article. The responsible persons, of a central dispatch facility 

that are found, after a hearing held pursuant to subdivision one 

of this section, to be in default to the Fund for assessments owed 

pursuant to this article, shall be personally liable for the amount 

of such assessments deter-mined to be then due and outstanding, 

including interest on such assessments awarded pursuant to this 

subdivision, and for all monetary penalties imposed pursuant to 
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this subdivision. “Responsible persons,” for purposes of this 

subdivision, include: 

   (i) the directors of a central dispatch facility that is a corpora-

tion; 

   (ii) the managers of a central dispatch facility that is a limited 

liability company or its members if management of the central 

dispatch facility is vested in its members; 

   (iii) the general partner or partners of a central dispatch facility 

that is a partnership; 

   (iv) all individuals who directly or indirectly own, control or 

hold the power to vote ten percent or more of the voting inter-

ests of any corporation, joint stock company, partnership, asso-

ciation, trust, limited liability company or similar entity that 

manages a central dispatch facility; and 

   (v) the president, Secretary and treasurer of a central dispatch 

facility, regardless of its form of organization. Failure of the 

central dispatch facility, or of its responsible persons to pay any 

assessments or penalties awarded pursuant to this subdivision 

within 20 days of issuance of a valid order so to do, or in the 

event an appeal has been taken from the determination of the 

Department or the local licensing authority, to deposit with the 

Secretary or the local licensing authority within 20 days of the 

issuance of the determination from which the appeal is taken the 

total amount of the award as security for its payment, shall enti-

tle the Secretary or the local licensing authority to file with the 

clerk of Albany County a certified copy of the determination of 

the Department or local licensing authority, and thereupon 

judgment shall be entered in the Supreme Court by the clerk of 

Albany County in conformity therewith immediately upon such 

filing. Such judgment shall be entered in the same manner, have 

the same effect and be subject to the same proceedings as 

though rendered in a suit duly heard and determined by the Su-

preme Court, except that no appeal may be taken therefrom. 

 3. Within 20 days after issuance by the Department or local licensing 

authority of a determination adverse to a central dispatch facility following 

a hearing held pursuant to subdivision one of this section, an appeal may 

be taken therefrom to the appellate division of the Supreme Court, third 

department, by the aggrieved central dispatch facility. The Attorney Gen-

eral shall represent the Department or the local licensing authority thereon. 

 

NOTE:  This law became effective on June 24, 1999. 


