Security Guard Training Requirements


Security Guard Training Requirements

Section 89-G of Article 7A requires all persons engaged in security guard activities be registered with the New York Department of State (DOS), and complete all training (unless exempt) at schools approved by the Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS). The following training courses are required:

Security Guard (unarmed)

Initial Training Requirements:

8 Hour Pre-Assignment Training- A general introductory course. You must complete this course and submit a copy of the certificate issued to you with your security guard application.

16 Hour On-The-Job Training (OJT) - A course relevant to the duties of guards, requirements of the work site, and the needs of the employer. You must complete this training within 90 days of employment as a security guard.

Annual Training Requirement:

8 Hour Annual In-Service Training - This course must be completed each calendar year you hold a security guard registration. Your registration is issued for two years, therefore, you must complete two 8 Hour Annual In-Service training courses within your registration effective and expiration dates to be eligible for renewal.


Armed Security Guard

Initial Training Requirements:

8 Hour Pre-Assignment Training - A general introductory course. You must complete this course and submit a copy of the certificate issued to you with your security guard application.

16 Hour On-The-Job Training (OJT) - A course relevant to the duties of guards, requirements of the work site, and the needs of the employer. You must complete this training within 90 days of employment as a security guard.

47 Hour Firearms Training - You must possess a valid NYS Pistol Permit and security guard registration to enroll in this course. Upon successful completion of this course, submit a copy of the certificate with your application for an armed guard registration upgrade.

Annual Training Requirements:

8 Hour Annual In-Service Training - This course must be completed each calendar year you hold an armed security guard registration. Your registration is issued for two years, therefore, you must complete two 8 Hour Annual In-Service training courses within your registration effective and expiration dates to be eligible for renewal; and

8 Hour Annual Firearms Training - This course must also be completed each calendar year you hold an armed security guard registration. Your registration is issued for two years, therefore, you must complete two 8 Hour Annual Firearms training courses within your registration effective and expiration dates to be eligible for renewal.

Waivers - Applications for a waiver of firearms training for unarmed and armed security guards may be reviewed up to a maximum of 10 years after separation from a sworn law enforcement position in New York. For the purposes of registration, you may be granted a waiver from training if you can demonstrate completion of training that meets or exceeds the minimum standards for the 8 Hour Pre-Assignment, OJT, or 47 Hour Firearms courses. To request a waiver, call DCJS directly at (518) 457-4135, or contact them in writing at 80 South Swan Street. 3rd floor, Albany NY 12210-8002. If approved, DCJS will send you a waiver letter to submit with your security guard application to DOS.