Newest New York State Boxing Hall of Fame Class Honored

Contact NYSAC:
New York State Athletic Commission
123 William Street, 2nd Floor
New York, NY 10038

E-mail the Athletic Commission
Telephone: (212) 417-5700
Fax: (212) 417-4987

Deaf, hard of hearing and speech-disabled callers, please use 7-1-1

Media Inquiries

Agendas & Open Meeting Documents

2016 New York State Athletic Commission Licensees

Newest New York State Boxing Hall of Fame Class Honored

On Sunday, March 30, over 500 people turned out to honor the newest inductees into the New York State Boxing Hall of Fame (NYSBHOF), sponsored by Ring 8, at Russo’s on the Bay in Howard Beach, NY.

2014 Boxing Hall of Fame InducteesThe NYSBHOF, now in its third year, annually recognizes members of the local New York boxing community for their contributions to the sport and for their efforts in making the Empire State a marquee location for the sweet science. Recipients come from all over New York State.

“New York has been the centerpiece of boxing for the past 50 years,” said Bob Duffy, President of Ring 8 and the NYSBHOF. “Some of our inductees may not have been international stars, but they helped make boxing what it is in New York. We wanted to do the right thing and recognize these accomplished individuals for all they have done to shape the sport here.”


The 2014 Class of the New York State Boxing Hall of Fame*

The 2014 living inductees into the NYSBHOF were:

  • Teddy Atlas of Staten Island, NY, Trainer and ESPN Boxing Commentator
  • Billy Backus of Canastota, NY, former WBC/WBA Welterweight Champion
  • Gerry Cooney of Huntington, NY, former Heavyweight Title Challenger
  • Lou Dibella of Brooklyn, NY, Promoter, Dibella Entertainment
  • Howard Davis, Jr. of Glen Cove, NY, a 1976 Olympic Games Gold Medalist/Outstanding Boxer  and a three-time Lightweight Title Challenger
  • Steve Farhood of Brooklyn, NY, boxing Historian and Showtime Analyst   
  • Mustafa Hamsho of Brooklyn, NY, a two-time Middleweight Title Challenger
  • Tracy Harris of New Paltz, NY, former WBC/IBF Super Featherweight Champion
  • Kevin Kelley of Flushing, NY, former WBC Featherweight Champion
  • Juan LaPorte of Brooklyn, NY, former WBC Featherweight Champion
  • Gene Moore of Queens, NY, Sunnyside Gardens Matchmaker
  • Angelo Prospero of Rochester, NY, boxing Writer and Historian

The 2014 members of the NYSBHOF voted in posthumously were:

  • Lou Ambers of Herkimer, NY, former World Lightweight Champion
  • Willie Bimstein of New York, NY, Trainer and Cutman
  • Jack Britton of Clinton, NY, a three-time World Welterweight Champion
  • Cus D’Amato of The Bronx and Catskill, NY, the legendary Trainer who launched the careers of Champions “Iron” Mike Tyson, Floyd Patterson and Jose Torres
  • Terry McGovern of Brooklyn, NY, former World Featherweight Champion
  • William Muldoon of Caneadea and Westchester County, NY, Trainer and the very first Chairman of the New York State Athletic Commission
  • Tom O’Rourke of New York, NY, Manager
  • Floyd Patterson of Brooklyn, NY, a two-time World Heavyweight Champion

Luminaries in the sold-out crowd included New York State Athletic Commission Chairwoman Melvina Lathan, as well as past NYSBHOF honorees Harold Lederman, the former renowned boxing judge and current boxing analyst and commentator for HBO, and Mark Breland, Former World Welterweight Champion. Family, friends and fans of those honored also took in the festivities.

From left to right: Master of Ceremons Mike Diamante, NYSAC Chairwoman Melvina Lathan, 2014 NYSBHOF Inductee Teddy Atlas, Atlas' daughter Nicole Atlas and Ring 8 President Bob Duffy at this year's NYSBHOF Induction Ceremony on March 30, 2014*

Previous classes of the NYSBHOF consisted of:

New York State Boxing Hall of Fame Classes

Jack Dempsey, Johnny Dundee, Sandy Saddler, Maxie Rosenbloom, Joey Archer, Iran Barkley, Mark Breland, Bobby Cassidy, Doug Jones, Junior Jones, James “Buddy” McGirt, Eddie Mustafa Muhammad, Bob Arum,  Shelly Finkel, Tony Graziano,  Larry Merchant, Teddy Brenner, Mike Jacobs, Tex Rickard, and Don Dunphy.


Carmen Basilio, Mike McCallum, Mike Tyson, Jake LaMotta, Riddick Bowe, Carlos Ortiz, Vito Antuofermo, Emile Griffith, “Sugar” Ray Robinson, Gene Tunney, Benny Leonard, Tony Canzoneri, Harold Lederman, Steve Acunto, Jimmy Glenn, Gil Clancy, Ray Arcel, Nat Fleischer, Bill Gallo and referee Arthur Mercante, Sr.

For additional information on the New York State Boxing Hall of Fame and Ring 8, please visit Ring 8 was formed in 1954 by ex-prizefighter, Jack Grebelsky, and became the eighth subsidiary of what was then known as the National Veteran Boxers Association – hence, RING 8 – and today the organization’s motto still remains: Boxers Helping Boxers. RING 8 is fully committed to supporting less fortunate people in the boxing community who may require assistance in terms of paying rent, medical expenses, or whatever justifiable need. It is the largest group of its kind in the United States with more than 350 members. All active boxers, amateur and professional, are entitled to a complimentary RING 8 yearly membership.


*All photos courtesy of Peter Frutkoff