NYSAC Profile - NYS Boxing Hall of Fame

Contact NYSAC:
New York State Athletic Commission
123 William Street, 2nd Floor
New York, NY 10038

E-mail: NYSAC@dos.ny.gov
Telephone: (212) 417-5700
Fax: (212) 417-4987

Deaf, hard of hearing and speech-disabled callers, please use 7-1-1

Media Inquiries

NYS Boxing Hall of Fame logo

The New York State Boxing Hall of Fame Adds 20 New Members at Its 2013 Class Induction Ceremony

New York State boxing fans had a lot to celebrate on the afternoon of Sunday, April 28, as the New York State Boxing Hall of Fame (NYSBHOF) inducted twenty new members to its distinguished class. The second annual induction dinner, held in Howard Beach, New York, brought together much of the State’s boxing community and the many that have helped shaped the sweet science in the Empire State.

“On behalf of the New York State Athletic Commission and all New Yorkers, I would like to congratulate all of the 2013 inductees into the New York State Boxing Hall of Fame,” said Melvina Lathan, Chairwoman of the New York State Athletic Commission (NYSAC). “New York has a rich and passionate boxing history and these individuals honored have played a tremendous role through their great contributions to the sport.”  

“This is the second year for the New York State Boxing Hall of Fame,” said New York State Boxing Hall of Fame president Bob Duffy who also serves with the Ring 8 club, a New York group formed in 1954 to help and honor former boxers, especially those that may have found themselves low on their luck after retirement from the ring. “All of our inductees are legitimate New Yorkers who’ve each had a significant impact on the sport.”

The New York State Athletic Commission is not affiliated with the NYSBHOF or Ring 8.

The 2013 inductees into the NYSBHOF are:

  • Middleweight Joey Archer
  • Former Middleweight, Super Middleweight and Light Heavyweight Champion Iran Barkley
  • Former Welterweight Champion Mark Breland
  • Junior Middleweight, Middleweight, Light Heavyweight and Cruiserweight Bobby Cassidy.  
  • Heavyweight Doug Jones
  • Former Bantamweight and Super Bantamweight Champion Junior Jones.
  • Former Light Welterweight and Welterweight Champion James “Buddy” McGirt.
  • Former Light Heavyweight Champion Eddie Mustafa Muhammad.

Voted in posthumously:

  • Former Heavyweight Champion Jack Dempsey
  • Featherweight Johnny Dundee
  • Former Featherweight and Junior Lightweight Champion Sandy Saddler
  • Former Light Heavyweight Champion Maxie Rosenbloom


  • Promoter Bob Arum
  • Manager Shelly Finkel
  • Manager Tony Graziano
  • Television Analyst Larry Merchant

Voted in posthumously:

  • Matchmaker Teddy Brenner
  • Promoter Mike Jacobs
  • Promoter Tex Rickard
  • Television and Radio Announcer Don Dunphy

Each inductee received a custom-designed belt signifying his induction into the NYSBHOF. Plaques of the honorees are on display at the Waterfront Crab House in Long Island City, NY.

In order to be eligible to be elected into the NYSBHOF, all boxers must be inactive for three years and must have resided in New York State for a significant portion of their careers. All honorees are selected by the six-person NYSBHOF nominating committee: Jack Hirsch, Steve Farhood, Don Majeski, Henry Hascup, Ron McNair and Neil Terens.

The first annual class, inducted last year, included notables such as “Sugar Ray” Robinson, Mike Tyson, Jake LaMotta, Carmen Basilio, Riddick Bowe and many more.

For more information on the NYSBHOF and photos from the event, go to www.Ring8ny.com.