Debts You Owre
And

Dehts You Don’t

How to spot and fight illegal debt collection tactics

Division of

NEW YORK
STATE OF H
OPPORTUNITY Consumer Protectlon

A Division of the New York Department of State

Advocating for and Empowering New York Consumers

Andrew M. Cuomo, Governor Rossana Rosado, Acting Secretary of State



A store, bank or other creditor may
hire a debt collection company to recoup
owed money.

Some intimidating debt collectors have
harassed people with threatening phone
calls early in the morning or late at night.
Other debt collectors have attempted to
collect debts that never existed, while
others have seized Social Security and
Veterans benefits, alimony or child
support, and/or other protected benefits
from personal bank accounts. These
actions are against the law.

This brochure shows how you can Spot
illegal collection tactics and how the
law can protect you.




The debt collection process officially
begins when you are first contacted
by a debt collector. The debt collector
may also send a notice to the credit
reporting bureaus.

Within five days of being contacted by a debt collector, you must
be mailed a letter detailing:

1) the debt amount;
2) the creditor's name;

3) a statement that the debt is assumed to be valid unless the
consumer disputes the validity of all or any part of the debt
within 30 days after receiving the notice; and,

4) a statement that on written request, the debt collector will
provide the consumer with the original creditor’s name
and address.

If you dispute owing part or all of the debt, or wish to know the
name and address of the original creditor, write a letter to the
debt collector within 30 days. Send your response by certified
mail to confirm that your letter is received. The debt collector
must cease all collection activity until it provides verification of the
debt or the original creditor information. A debt collector could
verify the debt by providing an account history, for example.



Consumer Safeguards

A debt collector CANNOT harass you by:

e Threatening violence or harm or by using profane language;

e Calling you repeatedly;

e Reaching out to others, except to obtain your contact
information.

Debt collectors CANNOT make false statements:

e Implying that he or she works for a law enforcement or
government agency or credit-reporting bureau such as
TransUnion, Equifax or Experian;

e Using a false name;

e Misrepresenting the amount of the debt; or

e Misrepresenting the legal status of the debt.

A debt collector CANNOT contact you:

e At inconvenient times, such as before 8 a.m. or after 9 p.m., or at
inappropriate places unless you otherwise agree to such contact;

e At work if the debt collector knows that the employer
disapproves of such contact;

e If you are represented by an attorney. They must contact your

lawyer instead; or



e [f you indicate in writing that you do not wish to be contacted.
Note: The debt collector may resort to legal action to pursue

its rights.

A debt collector or a bank CANNOT seize Supplemental

Social Security (SSI); Social Security; welfare; alimony or child

support; unemployment, disability, Workers’ Compensation

or Veterans benefits; or public or private pensions.

e By contacting your bank, you can try to make arrangements to
recoup lost funds and to protect these monies in the future.
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Common Questions:

Q. If | pay a debt collection agency the full amount owed,
how will my credit report be affected?

A. In this situation, your account will show a zero balance,
but it will still have a notation that explains it was paid
unsatisfactorily. Whether you pay the full balance or pay
a lesser amount agreed upon by the debt collector, an
adverse notation generally remains on your credit report for
seven years from the date the account was charged off as
uncollectible. If a debt collector tries to convince you that
payment will remove all derogatory notations associated with
that account from your credit report, have them send you that
commitment in writing.

Q. Is there a statute of limitations on debts in New
York State?

A. Creditors are increasingly selling their old “charged off”
accounts to collection agencies for pennies on the dollar.
The collection agencies attempt to obtain payment on these
accounts. This practice is legal. However, consumers should
understand that in New York a creditor has six years to sue a
debtor to collect on the amount owed. Although a creditor
may attempt to sue a debtor after this period of time, the
creditor may not be successful. If you are contacted about
debt that is “older” than six years, you may advise the
collection agency that you will pay them only if a court finds
that you currently owe such amounts.



Q. How long will my credit report be affected by not
paying my bills on time?

A. The federal “Fair Credit Reporting Act” states that most
negative information can stay on your credit report for seven
years from the date of last activity. The date of last activity is
usually the date that the creditor charged off your account as
uncollectible, and it is usually noted on your credit report.

Q. I am being harassed by debt collectors, but I'm sending
them all | can. Is this legal?

A. Debt collectors are not required to accept anything less than
full payment. However, in most cases, once a debt collector
understands that you are paying all you can afford, he/she
usually will cooperate with you. Debt collectors cannot harass
or abuse you, according to State and federal laws.

Q. What should | do if | believe a debt collector has
violated the law?

A. You may have legal rights. Problems with a debt collector
should be reported to the Office of the New York State
Attorney General or the Federal Trade Commission:

* New York State Attorney General e Federal Trade Commission
Consumer Frauds & Protection Bureau ~ Consumer Response Center
120 Broadway, New York, NY 10271 Washington, DC 20508
1-800-771-7755 1-877-382-4357
WWW.ag.ny.gov www.ftc.gov
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