State Fire Prevention and Building Code Council


What's New
Agendas & Open Meeting Documents
Energy Code
Manufactured Housing
Forms and Publications
Free Online Codes
Technical Information
Code Outreach Program
Contact Us

Join our Mailing List
For the latest information on Code enforcement and administration, law and regulation changes, technical bulletins, information on other state agency actions related to Codes, product and equipment safety, and public hearing schedules, subscribe to our E-Bulletins

The Code Council is comprised of 17 members appointed by the Governor; some with the advice and consent of the Senate. The Code Council is empowered to maintain and periodically update the Uniform Fire Prevention and Building Code and State Energy Conservation Construction Code, and to adopt higher or more restrictive local standards upon the recommendation of local governments. The members of this group represent architects, engineers, builders, trade unions, persons with disabilities, code enforcement, fire prevention, villages, towns, cities, counties, state agencies, the State Fire Administrator and the Secretary of State. A quorum of nine members must be present to adopt proposed code changes.

The Executive Law requires meetings to be held a minimum of four times a year. The mandated meetings are typically scheduled at the last meeting of each year. Meetings are held in Albany. All general meetings are open to the public.

Upcoming Meeting

Meeting Documents

2021 Meeting Schedule

Meeting Minutes

Calendar of Events

For More Information, Contact:
        Kevin Duerr-Clark, P.E.
        Assistant Director of Code Development
        New York State Department of State Division of Building Standards and Codes
        One Commerce Plaza, 99 Washington Avenue, Suite 1160, Albany, NY 12231
        Phone: (518) 486-4597
        Fax: (518) 486-4487

Code Council Members

Two members designated by statute:

Secretary of State

Rossana Rosado
(Designee: Matthew Tebo)

State Fire Administrator

Francis J. Nerney, Jr.
(Designee: Benjamin Keller)

Two state officials appointed by the Governor:


Division of Housing and Community Renewal

RuthAnne Visnauskas
(Designee:  Michael Weber)
(Designee:  Joseph Palozzola)

Department of Labor

Roberta Reardon
(Designee:  Vincent Rapacciuolo)

Six elected officials appointed by the Governor:


City (population over 1,000,000)

Bill de Blasio 
Mayor - City of New York
(Designee: Keith Wen)

City (population over 100,000)

City (population under 100,000)



Claudia Braymer


David Seeley



Seven members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate:


Fire Service Official

Joseph Toomey 

Registered Architect

Shawn Hamlin

Professional Engineer

Timothy DeRuyscher

Code Enforcement Official

Robert Hughes 

Builders Representative

William W. Tuyn

Trade Union Representative

Patrick Dolan

Persons with Disabilities Representative

Dominic Marinelli

Current as of 3/20/2020