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MANUFACTURED HOMES REGULATIONS
AND INDUSTRY PERSONNEL RESPONSIBILITY

Federal Law, the “Manufactured Housing Improvement Act of 2000 (PL106-157)”, gives
states the option to establish regulations that would provide enhanced protection for consumers of
manufactured homes. In states that opt not to establish such regulation, the U.S. Department of
Housing and Urban Development (HUD) becomes directly responsible to provide the necessary
protection to consumers, i.e., ensure that manufactured homes are properly installed through their
dispute resolution process. By enactment of Article 21-B of the Executive Law, New York State
has chosen to establish a regulation that has been approved by HUD known as 19 NYCRR Part
1210, Manufactured Homes. This action was in part driven by participants of the manufactured

home industry including installers.

Part 1210 requires among other things that all manufacturers, retailers, installers and
mechanics of manufactured homes be certified to manufacture, sell, install, or service any
manufactured home in New York State. Certification is issued only after applicants have shown
industry specific experience, completed required training courses, and satisfied stringent financial
as well as insurance responsibilities. The certifications shall be valid for a term of two years.

Continuing education requirements must be met before the certification renewal can be granted.

A business entity or individual engaged in both the retail sale and installation of
manufactured homes must be certified as both a retailer and an installer. Likewise a business entity

or individual engaged in retail sales at more than one location must be certified at each location.

A Limited Certification shall only be issued to an individual who is in the employment of a
business entity holding certification or another individual holding certification. Part 1210 also
requires that certified business entities must employ at least one certified individual at all times.
Employment of a person holding Limited Certification shall satisfy this requirement. Should the
only certified individual leave your company you will no longer be in compliance with the

regulations and legally unable to conduct business.

The certification requirement applies to individuals installing their own home as well. An
Owner-Occupant Certificate shall be issued on a one time basis to an individual for the
installation of his/her own home. That individual must complete the 16 Hour Installer Course,
and provide the Department of State specific information regarding the home to be installed. This

type of certification is valid only for the home indicated and shall not be transferred or renewed.
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The experience and education requirements are as follows:

Manufactured Housi
Certification Level Education anu' actured Housing Training
Experience
Manufacturer HUD Certification 3 Hour - 21B
Retailer High School or GED OR Us | ! Year Course
Armed F ducational 16 Hour - Install
Installer rme Orc_es cduicationa 2 Years or 20 Home Sets U~ Ihstatlers
report showing successful Course
. completion high school level 6 Hour —
Mechanic education I Year Mechanics Course
Limited Same as above Same as above

The financial requirements are as follows:

Certification Level Instrument Amount Certification Fee
Manufacturer Article 21-B Surety Bond OR a $50,000 $200

Retailer deposit account control agreement $25,000 $200

Installer OR a letter of credit in the sum $10,000 $200
Mechanic indicated $5,000 $100

Limited Employer responsibility Not required $25

Part 1210 requires both the manufacturer and installer to warrant manufactured homes
and affix a NYS Warranty Seal in a specific location within the home. By affixing a Warranty
Seal, a manufacturer attests that the home was constructed in accordance with HUD standards,
and an installer attests that the installation has been completed as prescribed by and in compliance

with the NYS Uniform Fire Prevention and Building Code (Uniform Code).

Under Workers Compensation and Disability Benefits Law the Department of State must
require applicants applying for certification provide proof of compliance with applicable insurance

coverage provisions.

In addition, Part 1210 provides for penalties to any person found guilty, after a hearing, of
violation of any provision of Article 21-B or Part 1210 in an amount up to $1,000 for each such

violation.

To download Part 1210, find a training opportunity, obtain a certification application or
for more information visit the Department of State, Manufactured Housing Unit website at:

www.dos.state.ny.us/code/manuf.html.
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