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License Number 
______________________________

Eff. Date: _______________ 

New York State 
Department of State 

Division of Licensing Services 
P.O. Box 22001 

Albany, NY 12201-2001 
Customer Service: (518) 474-4429

www.dos.ny.gov

Real Estate Salesperson Application FEE $50     
If you do not complete all required responses, your application will be returned. 

I am applying based on the following qualification * (X only one): 

Attorney Admitted to NYS Bar Previously Licensed        

Additional Salesperson License        DOS Approved Qualifying Education 

Reciprocity State of ___________________ and have provided a current certification (dated within 6 months) from the 
Real Estate Commission where my license was obtained. 

Please TYPE or PRINT all responses in ink         APPLICANT INFORMATION         * Required Responses

Applicant’s Last Name * First Name * M.I. Suffix

Home Address – Number & Street (Physical address required) * Apt/Suite 

City * State * Zip + 4 * County *

Applicant’s SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER *  (See Privacy Notification) Applicant’s DATE OF BIRTH * 

Applicant’s Phone Number  * Applicant’s EMAIL ADDRESS * 

Applicant’s New York State nine digit DMV ID # *  

Note: Non NYS residents please see Page 4 "Checklist"  

If you previously or currently hold a NYS real estate license issued 
by the state of  New York,  please enter the UID/License #. *   

BUSINESS INFORMATION  * Required Responses

Business Name * (Exactly as it appears on your sponsoring broker’s license) Office License/Unique ID Number

Business Address - Number & Street  
(Physical address where you will be permanently stationed is required) *  Daytime Phone Number 

  Location is principal office 
 Location is branch office 

City * State * Zip + 4 * County *
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Real Estate Salesperson Application
* Required Responses

Association Statement — I am sponsoring this application in accordance with the Real Property Law, §441.1(d).

Broker License/Unique ID Number 

Broker Print Name 

Broker Signature     D ate 

1. Have you ever been convicted of a crime that is a misdemeanor or felony? *  YES     NO
IF “YES,” you must submit a written explanation and provide a copy of the court records detailing the allegations of the 
offense and how the case was resolved. If you have received a Certificate of Relief from Disabilities, Certificate of Good 
Conduct or Executive Pardon, you must submit a copy with this application. 

2. Are there any criminal charges (misdemeanor or felonies) pending against you in any court? *  YES     NO
IF “YES,” you must submit a written explanation and provide a copy of the court records detailing the allegations of  
the offense. 

3. Has any license or permit issued to you or a company in which you are or were a principal ever been revoked, suspended

or denied? *  YES       NO
IF “YES,” you must provide all relevant documents, including the agency determination if any. 

Child Support Statement 

By signing this application, I certify that as of the date of this application, I am not under an obligation to pay child support OR if I 
am under an obligation to pay child support, I am not four or more months in arrears in the payment of child support, or I am making 
payments by income execution or by court agreed payment or repayment plan or by a plan agreed to by the parties or my child support 
obligation is the subject of a pending court proceeding, or I am receiving public assistance or supplemental security income. 

Applicant Affirmation— I affirm, under the penalties of perjury, that the statements made in this application are true and correct. 
I further affirm that I have read and understand the provisions of Article 12-A of the Real Property Law and the rules and regulations 
promulgated there under. 

If you are currently a NYS Licensed Real Estate Salesperson and are submitting this application for an additional Real Estate 
Salesperson license, by signing this application you are affirming all sponsoring brokers have provided their consent.  

In addition, I hereby authorize the NYS Department of State and NYS Department of Motor Vehicles to produce an ID card bearing 
my DMV photo.  I understand that DOS and DMV will use my DMV photo to produce all subsequent ID Cards for as long as I 
maintain my license with the Department of State and that I may withdraw my consent to use my DMV photo by submitting a request 
in writing to the Department of State.   

Applicant Print Name * 

Applicant Signature* Date 
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Real Estate Salesperson Application 

Education  
Applicants must have completed 75 hours of NYS Department of State/Division of Licensing Services approved 
qualifying education in the form of: 

75 hour salesperson course OR 

45 hour salesperson course (completed prior to 07/01/08) and 30 hour remedial course. 

Sales Course Certification - Complete only if not currently licensed as a salesperson

Certification of Satisfactory Completion - 75hr Salesperson Course or 45hr Salesperson Course 

This section must be completed by the school coordinator OR you may submit a copy of your course certificate(s). 

Name of School 

This certifies has satisfactorily completed the Real Estate 75 hour 

salesperson course (Code) #F - or 45 hour salesperson course #S - 

This course was completed on  

School Coordinator’s Signature Date 

Sales Remedial Course Certification 

Certification of Satisfactory Completion – 30 hr Salesperson Remedial Course 

This section must be completed by the school coordinator OR you may submit a copy of your course certificate. 

Name of School  

This certifies has satisfactorily completed a 30 hour 

salesperson remedial qualifying course (Code) #R - 

This course was completed on  

School Coordinator’s Signature Date 

(This section should only be completed if the 45 hr Salesperson Course was taken prior to 7/1/2008). 

If you received a Course Waiver from Educational Standards at the Department of State, please submit a copy with this application. 
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A COMPLETED APPLICATION MUST INCLUDE: 
(Use this checklist to ensure you have included/completed all requirements.) 

You must complete all required *responses.   
If you do not complete all required responses, your application will be returned. 

Page 1  

You must check one of the five options for "I am applying based on the following qualification." 

Applicant Information: 

o Complete “Applicant Information” required (*) responses.  You must complete this section.  If you do not complete required
responses, your application will be returned.

Non New York State Residents: 

o If you have a residence address outside NYS and do not possess a NYS DMV ID number you must enter nine (9) zeroes for your
DMV ID number in the space provided as well as include a clear copy of a government issued photo ID (ex. out of state driver license
or non-driver ID, US Passport, US Passport Card, etc).

Business Information: 

o Complete “Business Name” required (*) responses.  Clearly print or type the business name exactly as it appears on your sponsoring
broker's license.

o Complete "Business Address": All applicants MUST provide a business address where the applicant will be permanently stationed.

o Complete "Office license/unique ID number" and indicate if it is a Principal or Branch office.  If the address is the principal office
your sponsoring broker can provide this number.  If the address is a Branch Office you may obtain the license number from the
license.  In either case you may visit Licensing's webpage for the license number associated with the address.

Page 2  

Association Statement: 
o Your sponsoring broker must complete this section.

If you answered YES to questions 1, 2 or 3: 
o Question #1 – court documentation which MUST be submitted: A copy of the certificate of disposition from the court AND a copy of

the accusatory instrument* from the court.
o Question #2 – court documentation which MUST be submitted: A copy of the accusatory instrument* from the court AND

adjournment notice(s) indicating future court date(s) from the court.
o Question #3- you must provide all relevant documents, including the agency determination, (if any).

*An accusatory instrument is a document that is used by prosecutors and the criminal courts to charge and prosecute someone accused of a crime(s) and
details the facts and circumstances surrounding the crime(s).  This could be an Indictment, Superior Court Information, Criminal Complaint, etc.

Child Support Statement: Please read 

Applicant Affirmation: Please print and sign your name and date the application. 

Page 3  

Education: These sections must be completed by the School Coordinator (unless you are applying for an additional salesperson license, 
reciprocal salesperson license or are an attorney admitted to the NYS Bar Association) OR you may submit copies of your course certificates. 

Application fee: $50.00 payable to the NYS Department of State. (see instructions for acceptable payment methods). 
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New York State 
Department of State 

Division of Licensing Services 
P.O. Box 22001  

Albany, NY 12201-2001 
Customer Service: (518) 474-4429 

www.dos.ny.gov 

Real Estate Salesperson Application - Instructions 

For faster service, apply online at: 
www.dos.ny.gov 
Please take the time to read the instructions carefully 
before beginning the application form. Incomplete forms 
will be returned, delaying licensure. Any omission, 
inaccuracy or failure to make full disclosure in an 
application may be deemed sufficient reason to deny a 
license or could result in the suspension or revocation, if 
one is issued. 

What is in this package? 
This package includes all the information and forms you will 
need to apply for licensure as a Real Estate Salesperson in New 
York State. 

A completed application will include the application form, the 
nonrefundable $50 application fee, and the appropriate 
documentation as it applies. 

Please note: If you intend to be associated with more 
than one Real Estate Broker, you must file separate 
applications and fees for each such association, and 
consent from all your sponsoring brokers must be 
obtained prior to submission of this application. If you 
terminate association or change association, your 
principal broker must perform these transactions 
through the online services at www.dos.ny.gov. 

What is a Real Estate Salesperson? 
Under the supervision of a licensed real estate broker (with the 
exception of associate brokers), a real estate salesperson 
facilitates the purchase and sale of property on behalf of 
customers, obtains lists of property for sale with employing 
broker; assists buyers (customers) of real estate to locate and 
purchase property (listed with employing brokers or another 
broker). A real estate salesperson is associated with a real estate 
broker to list and negotiate the sale, lease, or rental of real 
property for others for compensation, under the direction and 
guidance of a responsible broker. A salesperson cannot operate 
independently. 

Who must apply for a Real Estate Salesperson 
license? 
Any person acting as a Real Estate Salesperson as described above 
is required by law to have a Real Estate Salesperson license. 

Who cannot apply for a Real Estate Salesperson 
license? 
A person is ineligible to file this application if s/he is a member 
of the partnership, or is an officer or owns voting stock in the 
corporation that is the sponsoring broker. 

What qualifications do I need for licensure? 
To apply for licensure you must: 

   —   be at least 18 years of age at the time you apply 

   —  have successfully completed a Department of State   
approved 75-hour qualifying course. If you have 
completed the 45-hour salesperson qualifying course 
prior to July 1, 2008, you may complete the 30-hour 
remedial course in order to qualify for licensure. 

  —   be sponsored by a NYS licensed real estate broker 

  —   pass the NYS real estate salesperson examination 

What do I need to do before applying for my 
license? 
You must successfully complete a 75-hour New York State 
approved course of study and pass a qualifying written 
examination administered by the Department before applying for a 
license to operate as a Real Estate Salesperson in this state. 
If you have completed the 45-hour salesperson qualifying course 
prior to July 1, 2008, you may complete the 30-hour remedial 
course in order to qualify for licensure. As proof of successful 
completion of schooling, you must have the Sales/Remedial 
Course Certification section of the application completed by the 
Department of State approved school coordinator or you may 
submit a copy of your course completion certificate. 

What if I completed my education outside of 
New York State? 
We may waive the 75-hour real estate education requirement if 
you can document an equivalent level of schooling. You must 
submit the following documents: 

— An official transcript from an accredited college or 
University indicating satisfactory completion of the  
course(s) you would like us to consider, or an original 
Certificate of Course Completion from a recognized real 
estate school.  

—  An official description of the subject matter. This can 
   usually be obtained from a school catalogue. 

Send these, along with a letter requesting a waiver of the 
qualifying education requirements to: 

  Department of State 
 Division of Licensing Services  
 Bureau of Educational Standards 
 P.O. Box 22001 
 Albany, NY 12201-2001 



Real Estate Salesperson Application - Instructions 
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As a matter of policy, the following courses will 
not be approved: 

 —   Continuing education courses 
 —   Correspondence courses 

 —   Paralegal 
Upon approval of your education, you will find information on 
how to register and schedule your examination on our website at 
www.dos.ny.gov. 

After you pass the examination, you must submit the application 
form, original waiver letter and fee. This must be done within two 
years of the date you passed the examination. 

Can I obtain a Real Estate Salesperson license 
based on my licensure in another state? 
An applicant who holds a Real Estate Salesperson license in 
another jurisdiction having a reciprocal agreement with New 
York State may be qualified to obtain a Real Estate Salesperson 
license in New York if they meet certain criteria. 

For information on the specific state you are inquiring about, visit 
our website at www.dos.ny.gov. 

Are there any continuing education requirements? 
Yes. A renewal license will not be issued unless you complete 
22.5 hours of Department of State approved continuing education 
within the two-year period immediately preceding such renewal. 
The 22.5 hours must include at least three hours of instruction 
pertaining to fair housing and/or discrimination in the sale or 
rental of real property or an interest in real property. 

What are the fees, terms of licensure? 
   $50 — two-year license 
   $15 — written examination 

What forms of payment do you accept? 
You may pay by check or money order made payable to the 
Department of State or charge any fee to Mastercard or Visa, 
using a credit card authorization form.  Do not send cash.  

Application fees are nonrefundable. A $20 fee will be charged 
for any check returned by your bank. 

Child Support Statement 
A Child Support Statement is mandatory in New York State 
(General Obligations Law) regardless of whether or not you have 
children or any Support obligation. Any person who is four 
months or more in arrears in child support may be subject to 
having his or her business, professional and driver’s licenses 
suspended.  The intentional submission of a false written 
statement for the purpose of frustrating or defeating the lawful 
enforcement of support obligations is punishable under §175.35 of 
the Penal Law. It is a class E felony to offer a false instrument for 
filing with a state or local government with the intent to defraud. 

Where do I get the office license number  
requested on the application? 
The number assigned to the principal or to the branch office 
can be obtained from your broker. It can also be located on the  

Department’s website. It is important for the processing of your 
application that you fill in the office license number and indicate 
whether the location is the principal office or a branch office. 
Please note that a license number is the same as a unique ID 
number. 

Information on Online Services 
Can I apply for a salesperson license online? 
Applicants who are applying for a first time salesperson license 
based on taking the state licensing examination may apply for a 
salesperson license online. If you have never signed up to take an 
examination, the first step is to establish an account at the following 
web address www.dos.ny.gov.  Once established into the system, 
you should apply to take the salesperson examination of your 
choice. Upon passing the state examination, you may log in to your 
established account and complete the online salesperson application. 

What qualifications will require a salesperson 
application to be submitted to our office rather 
than applying online? 
If you are applying based on reciprocity, attorney status, 
requesting an additional salesperson license or were previously 
licensed, you must submit your application to our Licensing office 
for processing.  If you completed education outside of New York 
State and have received an education waiver, you must pass the 
state examination and submit your application to our Licensing 
office for processing. 

What are the steps involved in applying for a 
salesperson license online? 

Step 1:  Log in to your established account. 

Step 2:  Enter required information. 

Step 3:  Select sponsoring broker by entering their 

Step 4:  Unique ID number 

The application will remain in the in-box of your sponsoring 
broker until the broker approves your application as a new hire. 

Upon broker approval, your license will be generated 
by Licensing that week and mailed to the office location 
indicated on your application. 

Why do I need to provide my e-mail address on 
the application? 
In order to perform online transactions, you must provide your 
current email address on the top portion of page 1 of the 
application. Your email address will be used by our office to 
establish your online account.  If you have already established an 
account by signing up to take the state examination, it is important 
that you utilize the same email address. If you change your email 
address in the future, you must log in to your account and update it 
with the new email address. 

If you are submitting an application to our office, you should 
indicate if your email address has changed since taking the 
examination. 



Real Estate Salesperson Application - Instructions 
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What is my User ID for the real estate online 
system and how do I update my online account 
information? 
The email address of a licensee is the User ID for each online 
account in the real estate online system. Each User ID must be 
unique, therefore, you will not be able to share an email address 
with anyone else in the system. If you have not already 
established an account, your password will be emailed to you 
upon approval of your application by our office. You will utilize  
your User ID (email address), along with this temporary assigned 
password, to access  your online account and change your 
password. 

Do I need to be terminated by a broker who I no 
longer work for? 
Yes, in accordance with statute, brokers are required to terminate 
all salespersons who are no longer working for them. All 
terminations must be completed by the broker through the online 
real estate system. The principal broker for the salesperson must 
log in to their personal online real estate account to perform the 
transaction. 

Once licensed, how do I change my association 
from one broker to another? 
All change of associations must be completed through the 
online system. If you have been previously working for another 
company, the first step is to ensure that the previous broker has 
already performed a termination on you. Once the termination is 
complete, your new representative broker should log in to their 
own personal online real estate account and complete the 
appropriate online transaction to associate you with their 
company. Your new broker will need your license number in 
order to perform the transaction. 

What transactions and information are available 
online to salespersons? 

 —  Complete initial Salesperson application 

 —  Change residence address 

 —  Renew license 

 —  Request duplicate license print 

 —  Examination results 

   —  Application status 

 —  License status 

For further information pertaining to Licensing web based 
application procedures, please refer to our Frequently Asked 
Questions on our website at www.dos.ny.gov. 

PRIVACY NOTIFICATION 
Do I need to provide my Social Security and 
Federal ID numbers on the application? 
Yes, if you have a social security number or Federal ID number, 
you are required to provide this number.  If you do not have a 
social security number or Federal ID number, please provide a 
written explanation.  

The Department of State is required to collect the federal Social 
Security and Employer Identification numbers of all licensees. 
The authority to request and maintain such personal information 
is found in §5 of the Tax Law and §3-503 of the General 
Obligations Law. Disclosure by you is mandatory. The 
information is collected to enable the Department of Taxation and 
Finance to identify individuals, businesses and others who have 
been delinquent in filing tax returns or may have underestimated 
their tax liabilities and to generally identify persons affected by 
the taxes administered by the Commissioner of Taxation and 
Finance. It will be used for tax administration purposes and any 
other purpose authorized by the Tax Law and may also be used by 
child support enforcement agencies or their authorized 
representatives of this or other states established pursuant to Title 
IV-D of the Social Security Act, to establish, modify or enforce 
an order of support, but will not be available to the public. A 
written explanation is required where no number is provided. This 
information will be maintained in the Licensing Information  
System by the Director of Administration and Management,  at 
One Commerce Plaza, 99 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 
12231-0001. 
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