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Read the instructions carefully before completing the 
application. Incomplete applications will be returned, 
delaying licensure. Any omission, inaccuracy or failure to 
make full disclosure in an application or supporting 
documentation may be deemed sufficient reason to deny 
a license, or, if a license is issued could result in the 
suspension or revocation of a license. 

What is in this package? 
This application package includes all the information and 
forms you will need to apply for registration as a hearing aid 
dispenser, the examination, and temporary registration. A 
completed application will include the three-page application 
form; the appropriate fee (outlined on page 2 and on the 
application form), and any requested documentation. 

Who needs to apply for a hearing aid dispenser 
registration? 
Any individual engaged in the dispensing of hearing aids must 
register with the Secretary of State. The General Business Law 
[Art.37-A, §789(8)] defines a hearing aid dispenser as “any 
person 21 years of age or older or an audiologist licensed 
under … the Education Law [Art. 159] who is engaged in the 
dispensing of hearing aids …”  

What qualifications and supporting documents 
do I need to apply for registration? 

You can apply based on any of the following 
categories: 

1. Audiologists:
Audiologists licensed under Article 159 of the Education
Law who engage in the dispensing of hearing aids must
register with the Secretary of State.

A) Audiologists with experience:

If you have proof of experience in the dispensing of 
hearing aids in New York State immedicately preceding 
January 1, 2000 you must submit: 

 a completed application with Item 1A checked off; 

 a nonrefundable $150 application fee; 

 proof of experience in the dispensing of hearing aids 
in New York state immediiately prededing 1/1/2000; 
and 

 a copy of your current license as an audiologist. 

Acceptable proof of experience: 

In order to qualify for a hearing aid dispenser registration 
without exam, you must provide proof of at least 6 months 
experience in the dispensing of hearing aids. The term, 
“dispensing of hearing aids” includes the selecting, selling, 
renting, adopting, or servicing of hearing aids. 

Proof of experience of dispensing hearing aids may be 
demonstrated as follows: 

 By your affidavit detailing the scope, nature and 
duration of your hearing aid dispensing experience. 

 A copy of your audiologist license from the NYS 
Department of Education. 

 A copy of your hearing aid dealer license (if any). 

 Corroborating affidavits (references) from employers, 
associates, colleagues, or clients indicating the nature 
and scope of your hearing aid dispensing activities. 

 Other corroborating proof of experience which may 
include relevant portions of your tax return, 1099’s, 
W2’s, contractual documents showing the hearing aid 
transactions, or receipts. 

B) Audiologist without experience:

If you do not have experience dispensing hearing aids, you 
will be waived from the written examination, course of 
instruction and 12-month training program, but you will be 
required to take the practical test of proficiency. To apply for 
registration, you must submit: 

 A completed application with Item 1B checked off; 

 A nonrefundable $200 fee (to cover the $150 
application fee and the $50 fee for the practical test 
of proficiency only); and 

 A copy of your current license as an audiologist. 

NOTE: 

➢ Temporary Certificate of Registration is not
avialable.

➢ You must pass the practical test of proficiency.
Once you pass that rest, a permanent registration
will be mailed to you.
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Attention Audiology clinical fellowship year candidates: 
If you wish to dispense hearing aids in a clinical setting as a CFY, 
you must apply for one temporary license, while you are in your 
traineeship. Select category 2 on this application. (Additionally, 
the clinic in which you work must be registered as a hearing aid 
dispenser business.) 

NOTE: 

 Contact the Bureau of Educational Standards at:
(518) 486-3803 for a school application.

Once you are in possession of your audiologist license, you may 
apply for a hearing aid dispenser registration. Select category 1B 
on the hearing aid dispenser application. You will then be 
scheduled for a practical examination, as soon as practicable. Upon 
passage of the exam, you will be issued a hearing aid dispenser 
registration. 

2. First time applicant (first temp):

If you are a first time applicant, you may apply for your first 
Temporary Certificate of Registration by submitting: 

 a completed application with Item 2 checked off and the     
Employer’s Affidavit section completed and signed by the 
supervising registered hearing aid dispenser; and 

 a nonrefundable $30 fee for a Temporary Certificate of 
Registration. 

 In addition to the above, in accordance with §790(1)(a)(ix) 
of Article 37-A of the General Business Law, applicants 
applying on or after January 1, 2003, must include proof of 
completion of either a 2-year degree or 60 credit hours. 
Acceptable proof is a copy of a diploma or an orignal school 
transcript. 

Upon issuance of your Temporary Certificate of Registration, 
you will be referred to as a trainee. 

NOTE: 

 You must complete a 12-month training program under
the direct supervision of a registered dispenser, complete
a state-mandated course of instruction and pass written
and practical examinations.

3. First time applicant (additional temp):

The term of registration is two years except a Temporary 
registration for a traineeship is valid for one year.  

If you are a trainee applying for an additional Temporary 
Certificate of Registration, you must submit: 

 a completed application with Item 3 checked off and the 
Employer’s Affidavit section completed and signed by the 
supervising registered hearing aid dispenser;  

 a refundable $30 fee for a Temporary Certificate of 
Registration. 
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4. Trainee – applying for exam:

If you are a trainee who has completed six months of 
supervised training and the course of instruction who 
wishes to take the exams, you must submit: 

 a completed application with Item 4 checked off; 

 a nonrefundable $50 exam fee (the $50 fee that 
accompanies this first application will be applied to 
both the practical and written exams; after that, the 
fee is $50 per exam); 

 the course and six-month training Certificates 
which entitle individuals to take the practical test 
of proficiency and the written exams. 

5. Trainee – applying for a full registration:

If you are a trainee who has completed your training, 
course of instruction and passed both exams, you may apply 
for a hearing aid dispenser registration by submitting: 

 a completed application with Item 5 checked off; 

 a nonrefundable $150 application fee; and 

 the completed Certificate of 12 months of Training 
in Hearing Aid Dispensing issued by the registered 
hearing aid dispenser. 

How many times can a first time applicant 
with no previous experience (trainee) with a 
temporary registration take the exam? 

An individual is allowed three attempts to pass the written 
and practical exams. Failure to pass the exams within three 
attempts will require the trainee to restart the application 
process – including submitting a new application form to 
the Department of State, retaking the course of instruction 
and completing the traineeship program under the direct 
supervision of a registered hearing aid dispenser. 

What are the fees, terms of the registration? 

 $50 first-time fee for both the Written Examination 
and the Practical Test of Proficiency; 

 $150 Individual Certificate of Registration as a 
hearing aid dispenser; and 

 $30 Temporary Certificate of Registration. 

Certificate of registration may be reissued only (again, for a 
period of one year), upon written verification of continued 
supervision by a registered hearing aid dispenser. 
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WOULD YOU LIKE TO REGISTER TO VOTE? 

Please visit the NY State Board of Elections at www.elections.ny.gov/votingregister.html  
or call 1-800-FOR-VOTE to request a NYS Voter Registration form.  

To register online, please visit www.ny.gov/services/register-vote.  

What forms of payment do you accept? 

You may pay by check or money order made payable to the 
Department of State or by MasterCard or Visa, using a credit card 
authorization form. Do not send cash. Application and examination 
fees are nonrefundable. A $20 fee will be charged for any check 
returned by your bank. 

I know that trainees need a course of instruction. 
Does this course need to be taught by an approved 
instructor? 

Yes, the course of instruction which is actually two components (a 
theory portion and a practical portion) must be taught by an 
individual who has been deemed an approved instructor by the 
Department of State, Bureau of Educational Standards. If an 
individual is going to teach either portion of these components s/he 
must submit a completed instructor application (available from the 
Bureau of Educational Standards), a resume, and a $25 fee to that 
unit for processing. Hearing aid dispensers who want to provide 
the course of instruction to their trainee(s) need to obtain approval 
before they can instruct. To be approved, the dispenser needs 3 
years of experience in the dispensing of hearing aids or a field 
directly related to hearing aid dispensing. 

Where can I obtain a copy of the hearing aid 
dispenser course of instruction? 

You may contact the Department of State, Bureau of Educational 
Standards, to obtain the most current copy of the curriculum.

Are there any continuing education requirements? 

Yes. As a condition of renewing your hearing aid dispenser 
registration effective January 1, 2019, you will be required to have 
completed the following prior to renewal: 

 Dispensers: 20 hours of Department of State approved 
continuing education credit including one hour on the 
topic of telecoil (t-coil) and other assistive listening 
devices, one hour on infection control and one hour on 
NYS and Federal law, regulations and professional 
conduct. 

 Audiologists: Four hours of hearing aid dispenser related 
topics including at least one hour on the topic of telecoil 
(t-coil) and other assistive listening devices, one hour on 
infection control and one hour on NYS and Federal law, 
regulations and professional conduct. Such hours may be 
earned in satisfaction of continued licensure under Article 
159 of the Education Law as long as the registrant 
demonstrates proof of completion of the required topics. 

                                                        

Can I obtain a Hearing Aid Registration based 
on my licensure in another state? 
Perhaps. We will review application request from 
individuals submitting proof of current licensure from 
another state where requirements are equivalent or higher.

Do I need to complete the Child Support 
Statement section of the application? 
A Child Support Statement is mandatory in New York state 
(General Obligations Law) regardless of whether or not6 
you have children or any support obligation. 
Any person who is four months or more in arrears in 
child support may be subject to having his or her 
business, professional and driver’s licenses suspended. 
The intentional submission of a false written statement for 
the purpose of frustrating or defeating the lawful 
enforcement of support obligations is punishable under 
§175.35 of the Penal Law. It is a class E felony to offer a
false instrument for filing with a state or local government
with the intent to defraud.

PRIVACY NOTIFICATION 
Do I need to provide my Social Security and 
Federal ID numbers on the application? 
Yes, if you have a social security number or Federal ID 
number, you are required to provide this number. If you do 
not have a social security number or a Federal ID number, 
please provide a written explanation. 
The Department of State is required to collect the federal 
Social Security and Employer Identification numbers of all 
licensees. The authority to request and maintain such 
personal information is found in §5 of the Tax Law and  
§3-503 of the General Obligations Law. Disclosure by you
is mandatory. The information is collected to enable the
Department of Taxation and Finance to identify individuals,
businesses and others who have been delinquent in filing tax
returns or may have underestimated their tax liabilities and
to generally identify persons affected by the taxes
administered by the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance.
It will be used for tax administration purposes and any other
purpose authorized by the Tax Law and may also be used by
child support enforcement agencies or their authorized
representatives of this or other states established pursuant to
Title IV-D of the Social Security Act, to establish, modify
or enforce an order of support, but will not be available to
the public. A written explanation is required where no
number is provided. This information will be maintained in
the Licensing Information System by the Director of
Administrating and Management, at Once Commerce Plaza,
99 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12231-0001.
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 Hearing Aid Dispenser Application – Individual Registrant 
 Temporary Certification of Registration and Examination 

1) I am a licensed Audiologist:
□ A) with experience in the dispensing of hearing aids in New York State

immediately preceding January 1, 2000.  Fee due:  $150 

□ B) with no experience.  Fee due:  $200 (includes $150 application fee and
$50 examination fee) 

2) □ I am a first-time applicant applying for a first Temporary Certificate of
     Registration. 
     Are you currently an audiology student?  Yes ________  No ________ 
     Fee due is $30 

3) □ I am a trainee/first-time applicant applying for an additional Temporary
    Certificate of Registration. 
    Are you currently an audiology student?   Yes ________  No ________ 
    Fee due is $30 

4) □ I am a trainee who has completed 6 months of supervised training and the
 course of instruction and I am now applying for an exam. 

    Fee due:  $50 (exam fee) 

5) □ I am a trainee who has completed my training and the course of
 instruction and passed both the written and practical exams. I am now
 applying for a hearing aid dispenser registration.  
Fee due:  $150 (Individual Registration) 

PLEASE PRINT 
LAST NAME, INCLUDING SUFFIXES (JR, SR, II, III, ETC.) 

FIRST NAME M.I.

HOME ADDRESS — NUMBER AND STREET (P.O. BOX MAY BE ADDED TO ENSURE DELIVERY) 

CITY STATE ZIP + 4 

COUNTY 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (SEE PRIVACY NOTIFICATION) FEDERAL I.D. NUMBER (SEE PRIVACY NOTIFICATION) DAYTIME PHONE (OPTIONAL; if problem with application) 

E-MAIL ADDRESS (IF ANY)

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS AREA 

150 

200 

30 

30 

50 

150 
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 YES  or NO 
1. Have you ever been issued a regular or temporary NYS hearing aid dispenser license?
➔If Y E S, ✔appropriate box below and specify dates and unique ID number:

□ Temporary License   From   T o  U ID 

□ Regular License  From   T o  U ID 
2. Have you ever been convicted in this state or elsewhere of any criminal offense that is a misdemeanor or

a felony?
➔If Y E S, submit a written explanation giving the p la c e , court jurisdiction, nature of the

offense, sentence and/or other disposition.  You must provide a copy of the accusatory
instrument (e.g., indictment, criminal information or complaint) and a Certificate of Disposition.
If you possess or have received a Certificate o f R e lie f from Disabilities, Certificate of Good
Conduct or Executive Pardon, you must submit a copy with this application.

3. Are there any criminal charges (misdemeanors or felonies) pending against you in any court in this state
or elsewhere?
➔If Y E S, you must provide a copy of the accusatory instrument (e.g., indictment, criminal

information or complaint).
4. Has any license or permit issued to you or a company in which you are or were a principal in New

York State or elsewhere ever been revoked, suspended or denied?
➔If Y E S, you must provide all relevant documents, including the agency determination, if any.

5. Do you have a high school diploma or its equivalent?
6. Do you have a two-year degree or 60 credit hours and have enclosed proof (copy of a diploma

or an original school transcript)? (Not applicable to licensed audiologists.)
7. What is your date of birth? ___________________________
8. If you hold a valid hearing aid dispenser’s license or registration in another state, indicate which state:

  EMPLOY ER’S A FFIDA V IT — All applicants (except licensed audiologists) must have their

   sponsoring dispenser sign this affidavit. 

I,    , a registered hearing aid dispenser, hereby state that I am 
sponsoring the above-named individual. 

Sponsoring 
Dispenser’s Signature  Date 

PRINT Sponsor’s Name: 

Business Name: 

Business Address: 

Sponsor’s UID: 

  ALL APPLICANTS—Business Location (Employees: place of employment) 
BUSINESS NAME 

BUSINESS ADDRESS — NUMBER AND STREET 

CITY STATE ZIP + 4 

COUNTY 

BUSINESS UID# (if known) 
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  Employees of Not for Profit Corporations: Fee Exemption 
  Employees of Not for Profit Corporations are exempt from the registration (application) fees as long as the employee of the Not for 
  Profit Corporation is not otherwise engaged in dispensing hearing aids for profit. Employees of Not for Profit Corporations are NOT 
exempt from the qualifications necessary to dispense hearing aids. They must file an application and comply with all qualifications 
necessary to receive a hearing aid dispenser registration. Employees of a Not for Profit Corporation are NOT exempt from the exam 
fees. 

   Are you an employee of a Not for Profit corporation who is not otherwise engaged in dispensing hearing aids for profit? 

□ YES □ NO
  If yes, you are waived from the $30 temporary and $150 registration fees. You are NOT exempt from the exam fees. 

  Child Support Statement 
By signing this application, I certify that as of the date of this application, I am not under an obligation to pay child support OR 
if I am under an obligation to pay child support, I am not four or more months in arrears in the payment of child support, or  I am 
making payments by income execution or by court agreed payment or repayment plan or by plan agreed to by the parties or my 
child support obligation is the subject of a pending court proceeding, or I am receiving public assistance or supplemental se curity 
income. 

  Applicant  Affirmation — I affirm, under the penalties of perjury, that the statements made in this application are true and 
 correct. I further affirm that I have read and understand the provisions of Article 37-A of the General Business Law and the rules and 
 regulations promulgated thereunder. 

   Applicant’s Signature 

X D ate 
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Please remember to include all documentation with this form and the appropriate fees (payable to NYS 
Department of State).  Before you mail your packet to the Department of State, Division of Licensing 
Services, P.O. Box 22001, Albany, NY 12201-2001, please take a moment to verify what you are mailing using 
the checklist below: 

1) If you are a licensed Audiologist:
A) with experience in the dispensing of hearing

aids in New York State immediately preceding
January 1, 2000, include a $150 application fee
and proof of current licensure as an audiologist
and proof of experience immediately preceding
January 1, 2000.

OR, if you are a licensed Audiologist: 

B) with no experience, include a $200 application
fee (to cover the $150 application and $50 exam
fee) and a copy of your current audiologist
license.

2) If you are a first-time applicant, include a $30
Application fee (for a Temporary Certificate of
Registration), proof of completion of either a two-
year degree or 60 credit hours (copy of a diploma or
an original school transcript), and be sure the
Employer’s Affidavit (see page 2) is completed and
signed.

3) If you are a trainee applying for an additional
Temporary Certificate of Registration, include a
$30 fee (for a Temporary Certificate of Registration)
and be sure the Employer’s Affidavit (see page 2) is
completed and signed.

4) If you are a trainee who has completed 6 MONTHS
OF SUPERVISED TRAINING and a course of
instruction, include a $50 exam fee and a Certificate
of Satisfactory Course Completion (issued either by
the Department of State-approved education provider
or registered hearing aid dispenser) and the completed
Certificate of 6 Months of Training in Hearing Aid
Dispensing issued by the registered hearing aid
dispenser.

5) For those who are now applying for a hearing aid
dispenser application because you completed your
training and course of instruction and passed both the
written and practical exams, be sure to complete the
application and include a $150 application fee and the
completed Certificate of 12 Months of Training in
Hearing Aid Dispensing issued by the registered
hearing aid dispenser.

It is important that you notify this division of any 
changes to your residential or business address so you 
can receive renewal notices and any other 
notifications pertinent to your license. 





Become an Organ and Tissue Donor 
Organ donors save lives. If you would like to be an organ and tissue donor upon your death, you may enroll in the 
NYS Donate Life Registry online at www.donatelife.ny.gov/register or complete the form below. Completed forms 
should be sent to the NYS Donate Life Registry by email --- Registry@donatelife.ny.gov or, mail - NYS Donate Life 
Registry, 185 Jordon Road, Troy, NY 12180. 
Fields with an asterisk (*) are required for enrollment. Upon receipt of your completed enrollment form, you will be 
sent an email or letter confirming your enrollment and providing you with information on how to limit your donation. 
I understand that by opting out of enrolling in the NYS Donate Life Registry, or skipping this question, will not impact 
or impair my ability to obtain services from the New York Department of State, Division of Licensing Services. 

*Last name 

*First name 

Middle Initial  Suffix 

*Address 

*Apt. Number   *Zip Code 

*City 

*Birth date    /   /             *Gender        M        F 
                         MM            DD               YYYY 

Email address 

DMV or IDNYC Number 

 
 

By signing below, you certify that you are: 
• 16 years of age or older; 
• Consenting to donate your organs and tissues for 

transplantation and/or research in the event of your death; 
• Authorizing the New York Department of State, Division of 

Licensing Services to transfer your name and identifying 
information to the NYS Donate Life Registry for 
enrollment; 
and 

• Authorizing the Registry to give access to this information 
to federally regulated organ procurement organizations 
and NYS-licensed tissue and eye banks and others 
approved by the NYS Commissioner of Health in the event 
of your death. 

*Sign     *Date 
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