
Real Estate Appraiser Instructor and Supervisory Appraiser Application 

Please read the instructions on Page 3 carefully. Incomplete applications will be returned. 

 There is a $50 non-refundable fee if you are applying for either an instructor and/or supervising appraiser approval. The fee must

accompany this original signed application (photo copies are not acceptable). Fees may be paid by check or money order (made

payable to the Department of State) or by MasterCard or Visa, using a credit card authorization form. Do not send cash.

 CHILD SUPPORT STATEMENT. A Child Support Statement is mandatory in New York State (General Obligations Law)

regardless of whether or not you have children.

 Certificate of Completion of the 4 hour Supervisory Appraiser/Trainee Appraiser Course must be submitted with this application.

 This application should be utilized if you are applying for either an appraiser instructor approval or if you are applying to be a

supervisory appraiser in New York State or for both.

Please indicate below which category you are applying for approval. Check both if you wish to obtain approval for both: 

Appraiser Instructor □□ Supervisory Appraiser

If you are applying as an appraiser instructor, please check the category you wish to teach: 

If you are not a licensed or certified appraiser in New York State or any other state you will be required to pass the examination in the category you wish to 

teach.  In accordance with AQB criteria, unless you have submitted the required experience and currently have an application for licensure/certification 

pending, these exam results cannot be used to become licensed/certified.  You will be required to successfully pass the exam again to qualify for a 

license/certification at the time of application. The Department non-refundable examination fee is $25. You will be issued an admission card for the 

appropriate examination. See instructions. 

     Licensed     Certified Residential     Certified General 

If you are applying as a Supervisory Appraiser, please complete below: 

Unique Identification Number   

Indicate the number of years and dates as a state-certified appraiser 
 (years)   (dates) 

By signing this application, I affirm that I was not subject to any disciplinary action within the last three (3) years that affects my legal ability to engage in 

appraisal practice and as a supervisory appraiser, I will not supervise more than three (3) trainee appraisers at one time. 

Instructor/Supervisory Appraiser Data:

Instructors Name 

Home Address (Number and Street; Apt. Number) 

City State Zip+4 County 

E-Mail Address (if any)

(         ) (         ) 
Current Occupation Business Phone Number Home Phone Number 

Business Address (Number and Street; Room/Suite Designation) 

City  State Zip + 4 County 
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Have you ever been convicted of a criminal offense that is a misdemeanor or felony or had any license, certification, commission, or registration denied, 

suspended or revoked in this state or elsewhere? 

     YES*         NO  *If yes, attach a statement of complete details.

Child Support Statement 

By signing this application, I certify that as of the date of this application, I am not under an obligation to pay child support OR if I am 

under an obligation to pay child support, I am not four or more months in arrears in the payment of child support, or I am making payments 

by income execution or by court agreed payment or repayment plan or by plan agreed to by the parties or my child support obligation is the 

subject of a pending court proceeding, or I am receiving public assistance or supplemental security income. 

Applicant Affirmation – In addition, I affirm under the penalties of perjury, that the statements made in my application, including 

statement made in any accompanying papers, are true and correct. 

Applicant’s Signature 

X   Date 

FOR OFFICE EFFECTIVE DATE: __/__/__ FEE RECEIVED: $________ TO REVENUE: __/__/__ 
USE ONLY  RECEIPT #: _____________ APPROVAL MAILED: __/__/__    LABEL: [    ] 

DOS-1491-f-a (Rev. 06/16)  Page 2 of 3 



Real Estate Appraiser Instructor and Supervisory Appraiser Application 

INSTRUCTOR QUALIFICATIONS: 

All individuals who wish to teach Department of State approved or recognized appraiser courses, within the State of New York, must provide 

evidence of the following:  

Licensed Course Instructor – In order for an individual to be eligible to teach an approved or recognized licensed real estate appraiser course: 

(a) The individual must provide evidence of having obtained a general or residential appraiser certification or State licensed real estate appraiser

Classification in New York State or any other state. (A copy of your current license/certification must be submitted with this application.)

OR

(b)The individual must apply for an appraiser instructor and pass the New York State licensed, residential or general appraiser examination.  In

accordance with AQB criteria, unless you have submitted the required experience and currently have an application for licensure/certification

pending, these exam results cannot be used to become licensed/certified.  You will be required to successfully pass the exam again to qualify for a

license/certification at the time of application.

Certified Residential Course Instructor – In order for an individual to be eligible to teach an approved or recognized residential appraiser course: 

(a) The individual must provide evidence of having obtained a general or residential appraiser certification in New York State or any other state. (A copy

of your current certification must be submitted with this application.)

OR

(b)The individual must apply for an appraiser instructor and pass the New York State certified residential or general appraiser examination.  In

accordance with AQB criteria, unless you have submitted the required experience and currently have an application for licensure/certification

pending, these exam results cannot be used to become licensed/certified.  You will be required to successfully pass the exam again to qualify for a

license/certification at the time of application.

Certified General Course Instructor – In order for an individual to be eligible to teach an approved or recognized general appraiser course: 

(a) The individual must provide evidence of having obtained a general appraiser certification in New York State or any other state.

(A copy of your current certification must be submitted with this application.)

OR

(b) The individual must apply for an appraiser instructor and pass the New York State certified general appraiser examination. In accordance with AQB

criteria, unless you have submitted the required experience and currently have an application for licensure/certification pending, these exam results

cannot be used to become licensed/certified.  You will be required to successfully pass the exam again to qualify for a license/certification at the time

of application.

PLEASE NOTIFY THE DEPARTMENT OF STATE if you have or will have both an application for appraiser instructor and an application for 

licensed/certified real estate appraiser pending at the same time. The processing of one application and examination results will not automatically 

process any other application that is pending. 

All licensed and certified real estate appraisers are required to successfully complete twenty-eight hours of approved continuing education courses every two 

years prior to renewal. In accordance with the real estate appraiser continuing education rules and regulations established by the New York State Real Estate 

Appraiser Board approved instructors of appraiser qualifying and continuing education courses or programs may be awarded one (1) hour of continuing 

education credit for each hour of instruction during the license or certification cycle not to exceed 14 hours. Credit shall not be awarded for teaching the same 

course/program more than once in a license/certification cycle. Instructors must submit an Equivalency Application and evidence of equivalency credit no 

later than 90 days prior to the expiration of their license/certification. An application for real estate appraiser continuing education equivalency credit is 

available on the Department of State’s website at www.dos.ny.gov. 

PLEASE NOTE: Ethics and standards (USPAP) course instructor. Effective January 1, 2003, in order for an individual to be able to teach an 

approved or recognized ethics and standards course, the individual must be certified by the Appraisal Qualification Board of the Appraisal 

Foundation as a certified USPAP instructor and, in addition, must be either a certified residential real estate appraiser or a certified general real 

estate appraiser. The instructor may be a certified real estate appraiser in New York or any other state. 

SUPERVISORY APPRAISER QUALIFICATIONS: 

 Supervisory Appraiser must be state-certified, i.e. certified residential or certified general, for a minimum of three (3) years prior to being eligible to

become a Supervisory Appraiser.

 Supervisory Appraiser shall be in good standing with New York State and not subject to any disciplinary action within the last three (3) years that

affected the Supervisory Appraiser’s legal ability to engage in appraisal practice.

 Supervisory Appraiser must submit a certificate of completion of the 4 hour Supervisory Appraiser/Trainee Appraiser Course.

 Supervisory Appraiser may not supervise more than three (3) Trainee Appraisers at one time.

 Supervisory Appraiser and Appraiser Trainee must maintain a log that includes the following data:

o Type of property

o Date of report

o Address of appraised property

o Number of actual work hours by the

trainee on the assignment

o Description of work performed by the

trainee and scope of the review and

supervision of the supervising

appraiser, and

o The signature and state certification

number of the supervising appraiser.

Separate appraisal logs shall be

maintained for each supervising

appraiser, if applicable.
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