New York State
DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Division of Licensing Services
P.O. Box 22001

Albany, NY 12201-2001

Customer Service: (518) 474-4429
www.dos.ny.gov

Home Inspector License Application

Read the instructions carefully before completing the
application. Incomplete applications will be returned, delaying
licensure. Any omission, inaccuracy or failure to make full
disclosure in an application or supporting documentation may
be deemed sufficient reason to deny a license, or, if a license
is issued could result in the suspension or revocation of a
license.

What is a Home Inspector?

New York State law Article 12-B 8444-B(4) of the Real Property
Law defines a Home Inspector as any person licensed to do home
inspections.

What are Home Inspections?
New York State law Article 12-B 8444-B(5) of the Real Property
Law defines a home inspection as the process by which a home
inspector observes and provides a written report of the systems and
components of a residential building including but not limited to:
A. Heating System
B. Cooling System
C. Plumbing System
D. Electrical System
E. Structural Components - foundation, roof masonry structure,
exterior and interior components or any other related
residential building component recommended by the Home
Inspection Council and implemented by the Department
through the regulatory process.

Who is excluded from this law?

Explicitly excluded are Architects, Professional Engineers, and
Certified Code Enforcement Officers. Whether new to the field or
existing, they can continue engaging in home inspections without
need of this license provided they are working within the scope of
their profession. However, if they open a home inspection business
they will be required to obtain a license.

What qualifications does a Licensed Architect or a
Professional Engineer opening his/her own home
inspection business need to meet?

An individual who is a Licensed Architect or a Professional Engineer
will need to provide proof of their professional license along with the
completed application and fee. They will be exempt from the course
work, examination requirements and the continuing education
requirements as set forth in statute for a home inspector license.

Is there a liability insurance requirement?Yes, §444-
K(1) of The Home Inspection Professional Licensing Act requires
that every licensed home inspector who is engaged in home
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inspection shall secure, maintain, and file with the Secretary proof of
a certificate of liability coverage. Applicants must submit proof of
general liability insurance which shall be a minimum amount of
$150,000 per occurrence and $500,000 aggregate.

Can one obtain a Home Inspector’s License based
on grandparenting?

No, as of December 31, 2006 applicants may no longer apply based
on the grandparenting clause. Applicants must apply under the
category of New Home Inspector (see application).

Can one obtain a Home Inspector’s License based
on licensure in another state?

Yes, if NY'S has entered into a reciprocity agreement with another
state. Upon submission of an application and fee, we will review

application requests from individuals submitting proof of current

licensure from another state where requirements are equivalent to
NYS. Where found equivalent, education and exam requirements
will be waived, and a license issued.

What are the fees, terms of licensure?

Examination Fee: $50 (if applicable).

Application Fee: Each application must be accompanied by a
nonrefundable application fee of $250; the license will be effective
for 2 years.

Renewal Fee: The renewal fee is $100 for a two year term.

What qualifications and supporting documents do |
need to apply for licensure?
You can apply based on the following:

New Home Inspectors

a. Have successfully completed high school or its equivalent;

b. Education: Taken and successfully completed a course of study
of not less than 140 hours approved by the Department. Of
those hours, 40 must be unpaid field based inspections in the
presence of and under direct supervision of a Home Inspector
licensed by NYS, or a professional engineer or architect,
regulated by NYS.

OR

Experience: Have performed not less than 100 home
inspections (paid or unpaid) in the presence of and under the
direct supervision of a Home Inspector licensed by NYS, or a
professional engineer or architect regulated by NYS;

c. Successful Completion of an Exam: Have passed the NYS
written examination, or have taken and passed an existing
nationally recognized examination, deemed equivalent, prior to
December 31, 2005.
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d. Freedom from Disqualifying Criminal Convictions

e. Application Fee: Each application must be accompanied by a
nonrefundable application fee of $250; the license will be
effective for 2 years.

Will nationally recognized exams, deemed equivalent
by the Department of State, that are taken and
passed after December 31, 2005 be acceptable?

No. Nationally recognized exams deemed equivalent by the
Department of State will only be acceptable if they are taken and
passed prior to December 31, 2005.

What forms of payment do you accept?

You may pay by check or money order made payable to the
Department of State or charge any fee to MasterCard or Visa, using a
credit card authorization form. Do not send cash. Application fees
are nonrefundable. A $20 fee will be charged for any check returned
by your bank. (Applicants should understand that if the
application filing fee is paid with a personal check, and the check
is returned by the bank due to insufficient funds, the next step in
the licensure process will be delayed until the fee [includes $20
returned check charge] is paid.)

What is the renewal fee and how does one renew
their license?

The renewal application is mailed to the Home Inspector
approximately 3 months prior to the expiration of his or her license.
The application must be completed and submitted with a $100 fee to
the Department of State, Division of Licensing Services. Instructions
for proper submission will be included with the renewal application.
The term of licensure is 2 years.

Are there any continuing education requirements?
Yes. Home inspectors are required to complete 24 hours of approved
continuing education within their two-year license renewal period
prior to the expiration date in order to renew their license.

Do I need to complete the Child Support Statement
section of the application?

Yes, a Child Support Statement is mandatory in New York State
(General Obligations Law). The law requires you to complete this
section — regardless of whether or not you have children or any
support obligation.

Any person who is four months or more in arrears in child
support may be subject to having his or her business,
professional and driver’s licenses suspended. The intentional
submission of a false written statement for the purpose of frustrating
or defeating the lawful enforcement of support obligations is
punishable under 8175.35 of the Penal Law. It is a class E felony to
offer a false instrument for filing with a state or local government
with the intent to defraud.

PRIVACY NOTIFICATION

Do | need to provide my Social Security and Federal
ID numbers on the application?

Yes. The Department of State is required to collect the federal Social
Security and Employer Identification numbers of all licensees. The
authority to request and maintain such personal information is found
in 85 of the Tax Law and §3-503 of the General Obligations Law.
Disclosure by you is mandatory. The information is collected to
enable the Department of Taxation and Finance to identify
individuals, businesses and others who have been delinquent in filing
tax returns or may have underestimated their tax liabilities and to
generally identify persons affected by the taxes administered by the
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. It will be used for tax
administration purposes and any other purpose authorized by the Tax
Law and may also be used by child support enforcement agencies or
their authorized representatives of this or other states established
pursuant to Title IV-D of the Social Security Act, to establish, modify
or enforce an order of support, but will not be available to the public.
A written explanation is required where no number is provided. This
information will be maintained in the Licensing Information System
by the Director of Administration and Management, at One
Commerce Plaza, 99 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12231-0001.

It is important that you notify this office of any changes to your
mailing address so you can receive renewal notices and
any other notifications pertinent to your license.

DOS 1694-a (Rev. 03/13)

Page 2 of 7



FOR OFFICE UNIQUE ID CLASS CASH NUMBER QUAL FEE
USE ONLY CODE

(N ) Y Y I Y Y I A AN M ||| $250

NYS Department of State
DIVISION OF LICENSING SERVICES

Home Inspector Application Albany, N 195012001

A $250 NONREFUNDABLE FEE MUST ACCOMPANY THIS APPLICATION
PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE ALL RESPONSES IN INK. lllegible applications will be returned for clarification, causing delays in licensure.

APPLICATION AS (CHECK ONE)

O Individual - Must complete Section A

[0 Trade Name [ Partnership [ Corporation [I Limited Liability Company - Must Complete Section A and B

Section A Applicant's Name  Last First M.I. Suff.
Residence Street Address (Required) P.O. Box (mailing purposes only) Apt. Number
City State Zip+4 County
Daytime Telephone Number Social Security Number Federal Taxpayer ID
(If problem with application) (See Privacy Notification) (See Privacy Notification)

E-mail Address (If Any)

Section B Home Inspector Business Name (If applying other than individual)

Please complete this section if you want your information to be mailed to an address other than your residence address.

Mailing Business Name (For mailing purposes only)
Address
Street Address
City State Zip+4 County

1. BACKGROUND DATA
Answer the following questions by checking either “Yes” or “No”
All applicants must complete this section. If you do not complete it, your application will be returned.

1. What is your date of birth?

YES* NO

2. Do you have a high school diploma or its equivalent?

3. Areyou a Licensed Architect or Professional Engineer?
IF “YES,” submit a copy of your license. (You may skip Section 2.)

4. Have you ever held a home inspector license issued by the State of New York?
IF “YES,” what year? Unique ID No.

5. Have you ever been convicted in this state or elsewhere of any criminal offense that
is a misdemeanor or a felony?

IF “YES,” submit a written explanation giving the place, court jurisdiction, nature of the offense, sentence
and/or other disposition. You must provide a copy of the accusatory (e.g., indictment, criminal information or
complaint) and a Certificate of Disposition. If you possess or have received a Certificate of Relief from
Disabilities, Certificate of Good Conduct or Executive Pardon, you must submit a copy with this application.
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YES* NO

6. Are there any criminal charges (misdemeanors or felonies) pending against you in
any court in this state or elsewhere?

IF “YES,” you must provide a copy of the accusatory instrument (e.g., indictment, criminal information or
complaint).

7. Has any license or permit issued to you or a company in which you are or were a
principal in New York State or elsewhere ever been revoked, suspended or denied?
IF “YES,” you must provide all relevant documents, including the agency determination, if any.

8. Have you ever applied for or been issued a Home Inspector’s license of any type,
and had any such license denied, revoked or suspended, or otherwise disciplined, in
this state or elsewhere?

IF “YES,” you must provide a copy of the licensing agency’s order.

9. | own this business and the Trade Name Certificate has been filed in the office of the

county clerk where the business is located. (By signing this application, you are certifying
compliance with this requirement.)

10. I am a member of this partnership and the Partnership Certificate has been filed in

the office of the county clerk where our business is located. (By signing this application,
you are certifying compliance with this requirement.)

11a. 1am applying as the qualifying corporate officer of this corporation and the New
York State Certificate of Incorporation providing the authority to engage in Home

Inspections has been filed in the Division of Corporations. (By signing this application,
you are certifying compliance with this requirement.)

b. I am an officer of this foreign (out of state) corporation and an Application for
Authority to do business has been filed with the NYS Department of State, Division
of Corporations. (By signing this application, you are certifying compliance with this requirement.)

12. 1 am a member of this Limited Liability Company and have filed articles of organi-

zation with the Division of Corporations. (By signing this application, you are certifying
compliance with this requirement.)

13. Do you hold a valid home inspector’s license in another state?
IF “YES,” which state?

2. All applicants must have a high school diploma or equivalent.
All applicants must be free from disqualifying convictions.

New Home Inspectors

[0 Education
» Must submit original course completion certificates of 140 hours of approved schooling which includes 40 hours of unpaid field-based
training.

« If 40 hours of unpaid field-based training was obtained from other than an approved school you must also submit ATTACHMENT A.
Or

[0 Experience
» Must submit evidence of having performed not less than 100 home inspections (paid or unpaid) in the presence of and under the direct
supervision of a Home Inspector licensed by NY'S, or a professional engineer or architect regulated by NYS. You must submit
ATTACHMENT B.

AND
» Must provide evidence of passing the required examination.
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3.

PROOF OF INSURANCE - (A copy must be submitted with this application.)

8444-K(1) of The Home Inspection Professional Licensing Act requires that every licensed home inspector who is engaged in home inspection
shall secure, maintain and file with the Secretary of State proof of general liability insurance which shall be in the minimum amount of
$150,000 per occurrence and $500,000 aggregate.

The following items must be included on the proof of Liability Insurance:
Name of insured (the applicant’s name only if applying as an individual; or the applicant’s name AND the business name if applying as a
business entity); name of insurance company, business address and telephone number (include area code) of insurance company, policy
number; policy expiration date and the Secretary of State as certificate holder.

Every proof of liability coverage required to be filed with the Secretary shall provide that cancellation or nonrenewal of the policy shall not be
effective unless and until at least ten days’ notice of intention to cancel or nonrenew has been received in writing by the Secretary.

4.

CHILD SUPPORT STATEMENT — You must complete this section. If you do not complete it, your application will be returned.
“X” A or B, below

I, the undersigned, do hereby certify that (You must “X” A or B, below):

A. [ ] I am not under obligation to pay child support. (SKIP “B” and go directly to Applicant Affirmation).

B. [ ] I'am under obligation to pay child support (You must “X” any of the four statements below that are true and apply to you):

[ 1 1do not owe four or more months of child support payments.

[ 1 1'am making child support payments by income execution or court approved payment plan or by a plan agreed to by the
parties.

[ 1 My child support obligation is the subject of a pending court proceeding.
[ 1 Ireceive public assistance or supplemental social security income.

APPLICANT AFFIRMATION (All Applicants) — I affirm that | have read and understand the provisions of Article
12-B of the Real Property Law and the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder. | further affirm that Worker’s Compensation
Insurance/Disability Benefits, for all employees, if applicable, has been secured. | further certify, under the penalties of perjury,
that the information given above is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand that any material misstatement made
may result in the revocation or suspension of the license if issued.

Applicant’s Signature

X Date
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