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New York State 
Department of State 

Division of Licensing Services 
P.O. Box 22001         

Albany, NY 12201-2001 
Customer Service: (518) 474-4429 

www.dos.ny.gov 
 
Ticket Reseller Application 
Please take the time to read the instructions in this package 
carefully before beginning the application form. Incomplete 
forms will be returned, delaying licensure. Any omission, 
inaccuracy or failure to make full disclosure in an application 
may be deemed sufficient reason to deny a license or could 
result in the suspension or revocation, if one is issued. 

What is in this package? 
This package includes everything you need to apply for a 
license as a Ticket Reseller in New York State.  

A completed application will include the signed application, 
the $5,000 nonrefundable application fee, the bond in the 
amount of $25,000 and any other requested documentation. 

What is a Ticket Reseller? 

A Ticket Reseller is any person, firm or corporation who 
resells or engages in the business of reselling any tickets to 
a place of entertainment or who operates an internet website 
or any other electronic service that provides a mechanism 
for two or more parties to participate in a resale transaction 
or that facilitates resale transactions by the means of an 
auction, or who owns, conducts or maintains any office, 
branch office, bureau, agency or sub-agency for such 
business. 

“Entertainment” means all forms of entertainment including, 
but not limited to, theatrical or operatic performances, 
concerts, motion pictures, all forms of entertainment at fair 
grounds, amusement parks and all types of athletic 
competitions including football, basketball, baseball, boxing, 
tennis, hockey, and any other sport, and all other forms of 
diversion, recreation or show. 

Who is the Contact Person? 

A “contact person” is any individual who has ownership in 
the ticket reseller business. This person indicates their name 
and home address on the application. They sign the 
application affirmation and also the appropriate section of 
the bond. If a branch office will have a different contact 
person who also has ownership in the business, then that 
person must sign the branch office application and bond. 

Who is exempt for licensure? 

A “Not-for-profit” organization as described in Section 
25.03(4) of Article 25 of the Arts and Cultural Affairs law. Any 
operator or manager of a website that serves as a platform  
 

to facilitate resale, or resale by way of a competitive bidding 
process, solely between third parties and does not in any 
other manner engage in resales of tickets to places of 
entertainment. 

What is the application fee and terms of licensure? 
The nonrefundable application fee for a Ticket Reseller is 
$5,000. Each license is for one year with the term beginning 
January 1 and ending December 31.  
Please note: If you apply within the one year cycle, your 
license will expire on December 31. 

Can I be waived from the application fee? 

A business that provides a service to facilitate ticket 
transactions without charging any fees, surcharges or 
service charges above the established price, on every 
transaction, except a reasonable and actual charge for the 
delivery of tickets, shall have the ticket reseller application 
fee waived. See Section 25.03(2) for the definition of 
“established price.” 

A signed statement must be submitted with the ticket reseller 
application indicating that, “In accordance with Section 
25.13(2) of the Arts and Cultural Affairs law, I am applying 
for a ticket reseller license and I meet the qualifications for 
having the application fee waived.” 

What forms of payment do you accept? 

You may pay by Money Order, Company Check or Cashier's 
Check made payable to the Department of State or charge 
the fee to MasterCard or Visa using a credit card 
authorization form. If payment is being made by credit card, 
a separate credit card authorization must be submitted for 
each application. DO NOT SEND CASH OR PERSONAL 
CHECKS. Application fees are nonrefundable. A $20 fee will 
be charged for any check returned by your bank. 
 
Child Support Statement 

A Child support statement is mandatory in New York State 
(General Obligations Law) regardless of whether or not you 
have children or any support obligation.  Any person who is 
four months or more in arrears in child support may be 
subject to having his or her business, professional and 
driver’s license suspended.  The intentional submission of 
a false written statement for the purpose of frustration or 
defeating the lawful enforcement of support obligations is 
punishable under §175.35 of the Penal Law.  It is a class E  
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felony to offer a false instrument for filing with a state or local 
government with the intent to defraud. 
 
PRIVACY NOTIFICATION 
Do I need to provide my Social Security and federal ID 
numbers on the application? 
Yes, if you have a social security number or Federal ID 
number, you are required to provide this number.  If you do 
not have a social security number of Federal ID number, 
please provide a written explanation. 
 
The Department of State is required to collect the federal 
Social Security and Employer Identification numbers of all 
licensees.  The authority to request and maintain such 
personal information is found in §5 of the Tax Law and §3-
503 of the General Obligations Law.  Disclosure by you is 
mandatory.  The information is collected to enable the 
Department of Taxation and Finance to identify individuals, 
businesses and others who have been delinquent in filing tax 
returns or may have underestimated their tax liabilities and 
to generally identify persons affected by the taxes 
administered by the Commission of Taxation and Finance.  It 
will be used for tax administration purposes and any other 
purpose authorized by the Tax Law and may also be used 
by child support enforcement agencies or their authorized 
representatives of this state or other states established 
pursuant to Title IV-D of the Social Security Act, to establish, 
modify or enforce an order of support, but will not be 
available to the public.  A written explanation is required 
where no number is provided.  This information will be 
maintained in the Licensing Information System by the 
Direction of Administration and Management, at One 
Commerce Plaza, 99 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 
12231-0001. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

WOULD YOU LIKE TO REGISTER TO VOTE? 

Please visit the NY State Board of Elections at www.elections.ny.gov/votingregister.html   

or call 1-800-FOR-VOTE to request a NYS Voter Registration form.  

To register online, please visit www.ny.gov/services/register-vote.   
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(For Office Use Only)     
   UNIQUE ID NUMBER  EFF. DATE  CASH NUMBER FEE 

 $5,000 
New York State 

Department of State 
Division of Licensing Services 

P.O. Box 22001  
Albany, NY 12201-2001 

Customer Service: (518) 474-4429 
www.dos.ny.gov 

Ticket Reseller Application 
Read the instructions for details before completing this application form.  You must answer each question and TYPE or PRINT 
responses in ink. 
Application as (Check One):    ☐    Individual       ☐ Trade Name ☐ Corporation
☐ Limited Partnership ☐ Partnership ☐ Limited Liability Company    ☐    Limited Liability Partnership

BUSINESS NAME 

BUSINESS ADDRESS - NUMBER AND STREET (REQUIRED, PO BOX MAY BE ADDED TO ENSURE DELIVERY) 

CITY STATE ZIP+4 COUNTY

FEDERAL TAXPAYER ID NUMBER (SEE PRIVACY NOTIFICATION) 

BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER 

 (              ) 
EMAIL ADDRESS (IF ANY) 

CONTACT PERSON 

HOME ADDRESS - NUMBER AND STREET (REQUIRED, PO BOX MAY BE ADDED TO ENSURE DELIVERY) 

CITY STATE ZIP+4 COUNTY

     YES   or   NO 

1. I have attached proof of bonding in the amount of $25,000.

2. Have you ever been convicted in this state or elsewhere of any criminal offense that is a
misdemeanor or a felony?
» IF "YES," you must submit with this application a written explanation giving the place, court
jurisdiction, nature of the offense sentence and/or other disposition. You must submit a copy of the
accusatory instrument (e.g., indictment, criminal information or complaint) and a Certificate of
Disposition.  If you possess or have received a Certificate of Relief from Disabilities, Certificate of Good
Conduct or Executive Pardon, you must submit a copy with this application.

3. Are there any criminal charges (misdemeanor or felonies) pending against you in any court in
this state or elsewhere?
» IF "YES," you must submit a copy of the accusatory instrument (e.g., indictment, criminal
information or complaint.)

4. Has any license or permit issued to you or a company in which you are or were a principal in
New York State or elsewhere ever been revoked, suspended or denied?
» IF "YES," you must provide all relevant documents, including the agency determination, (if any)

For questions 5 - 8 please answer only the statement which applies to your particular licensing status. 

5. I own this business and the Trade Name Certificate has been filed in the Office of the County
Clerk where the business is located. (By signing this application, you are certifying
compliance with this requirement.)
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       YES  or   NO 

6. I am a member of this partnership and the Certificate of Partnership has been filed in the
office of the County Clerk where the business is located or with the NYS Department of State,
Division of Corporations. (By signing this application, you are certifying compliance with
this requirement.)

7. a. I am an officer of this corporation and the New York State Certificate of Incorporation has
been filed with the NYS Department of State, Division of Corporations. (By signing this 
application, you are certifying compliance with this requirement.) 

7. b. I am an officer of this foreign (out of state) corporation and an Application for Authority to do
business has been filed with the NYS Department of State, Division of Corporations. (By 
signing this application, you are certifying compliance with this requirement.) 

8. I am a (member) (manager) of this Limited Liability Company, and a copy of the Articles of
Organization has been filed with the NYS Department of State, Division of Corporations. (By
signing this application, you are certifying compliance with this requirement.)

If you are applying as an individual or sole proprietor, complete items 1 and 2 below. 
If you are applying as a corporation, partnership, or limited liability company, skip item 1 and go directly to item 2. 

1. Child Support Statement - By signing this application, I certify that as of the date of this application, I am not under an
obligation to pay child support OR if I am under an obligation to pay child support, I am not four or more months in arrears in the
payment of child support, or I am making payments by income execution or by court agreed payment or repayment plan or by
plan agreed to by the parties or my child support obligation is the  subject of a pending court proceeding, or I am receiving public
assistance or supplemental security income.

2. Applicant Affirmation - I affirm that I have read and understand the provisions of Article 25 of the Arts and Cultural Affairs
Law and the    rules and regulations promulgated thereunder. I further affirm that Worker’s Compensation Insurance/Disability
Benefits, for all employees, if applicable, has been secured. I further certify, under the penalties of perjury, that the information
given above is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand that any material misstatement made may result in the
revocation or suspension of the license if issued.

Applicant’s Signature

X Date  

Please remember to include with this application the surety bond and any required 
documentation, along with your application fee made payable to NYS Department of State. 

It is important that you notify this division of any changes to your address 
so you can receive renewal notices and any other notifications pertinent to your license. 



Become an Organ and Tissue Donor 
Organ donors save lives. If you would like to be an organ and tissue donor upon your death, you may enroll in the 
NYS Donate Life Registry online at www.donatelife.ny.gov/register or complete the form below. Completed forms 
should be sent to the NYS Donate Life Registry by email --- Registry@donatelife.ny.gov or, mail - NYS Donate Life 
Registry, 185 Jordon Road, Troy, NY 12180. 
Fields with an asterisk (*) are required for enrollment. Upon receipt of your completed enrollment form, you will be 
sent an email or letter confirming your enrollment and providing you with information on how to limit your donation. 
I understand that by opting out of enrolling in the NYS Donate Life Registry, or skipping this question, will not impact 
or impair my ability to obtain services from the New York Department of State, Division of Licensing Services. 

*Last name 

*First name 

Middle Initial  Suffix 

*Address 

*Apt. Number   *Zip Code 

*City 

*Birth date    /   /             *Gender        M        F 
                         MM            DD               YYYY 

Email address 

DMV or IDNYC Number 

 
 

By signing below, you certify that you are: 
• 16 years of age or older; 
• Consenting to donate your organs and tissues for 

transplantation and/or research in the event of your death; 
• Authorizing the New York Department of State, Division of 

Licensing Services to transfer your name and identifying 
information to the NYS Donate Life Registry for 
enrollment; 
and 

• Authorizing the Registry to give access to this information 
to federally regulated organ procurement organizations 
and NYS-licensed tissue and eye banks and others 
approved by the NYS Commissioner of Health in the event 
of your death. 

*Sign     *Date 
 

 


	Group1: Off
	BUSINESS NAME: 
	BUSINESS ADDRESS  NUMBER AND STREET REQUIRED PO BOX MAY BE ADDED TO ENSURE DELIVERY: 
	FEDERAL TAXPAYER ID NUMBER SEE PRIVACY NOTIFICATION 1: 
	AREA CODE: 
	BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER: 
	EMAIL ADDRESS IF ANY: 
	CONTACT PERSON: 
	HOME ADDRESS  NUMBER AND STREET REQUIRED PO BOX MAY BE ADDED TO ENSURE DELIVERY: 
	CITY: 
	STATE: 
	ZIP+4: 
	COUNTY: 
	Group2: Off
	Group3: Off
	Group4: Off
	Group5: Off
	Group6: Off
	Group7: Off
	Group8: Off
	Group9: Off
	Group10: Off
	DATE: 
	OTD Last Name: 
	OTD First Name: 
	OTD MI: 
	OTD Suffix: 
	OTD Address: 
	OTD Apt Number: 
	OTD Zip Code: 
	OTD City: 
	OTD BD Day: 
	OTD BD Month: 
	OTD BD Year: 
	OTD Gender: Off
	OTD Email: 
	OTD DMV: 


