DOS Banner Graphic
Request for Applications

About DOS
Newsroom & Webcasts
Calendar of Events
Grant Opportunities
Current Grant/Funding/Bid Opportunities
Contact Us
Governor's Office
Listing of NY State Agencies
Subject Matter List of Available Records (doc)


Funding issued by the Northern Border Regional Commission and managed by New York Department of State.

Schedule of Events
RFA Posted: March 17, 2016
All Applications Due: June 17, 2016

Available Funding

The Northern Border Regional Commission (NBRC) has announced the availability of up to $5 million in federal grant money for economic and community development projects for local governments and non-profits in the states of New York, Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine.  In New York State projects will be accepted from applicants in the following New York Counties: Cayuga, Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Oswego, St. Lawrence and Seneca.  Applications are eligible to be funded up to $250,000 per project.

The grant evaluation will be managed by the New York Department of State.  Such evaluation may also require the Department of State, as a State Infrastructure Agency under Article 6 of the Environmental Conservation Law (State Smart Growth Public Infrastructure Policy Act), to determine whether an application for grant funding or approval of a public infrastructure project is consistent with the 10 Smart Growth Criteria outline in Article 6.

County Economic Designations and Funding Match

The NBRC establishes each counties economic designation based upon the following criteria: 

a. Outmigration of Population
b. Per Capita Income lower than the national average
c. Unemployment higher than the national average
d. 2000-2010 Population increase less than the national average
e. Poverty Rate higher than the national average

Distressed counties meet at least three of the five criteria.  For Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) 2016 Cayuga, Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Herkimer, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Oswego, St. Lawrence, and Seneca counties have been designated as distressed and will require funding match of at 20% of the qualified project costs. 

Transitional counties meet at least one of the five criteria.  For FFY 2016, the NBRC designated Hamilton and Jefferson Counties as transitional counties, requiring funding match of at least 50% of the qualified project costs.   

Program Contacts

New York State Department of State
Kyle Wilber, Program Manager
Phone: (518) 473-3355

Northern Border Regional Commission (NBRC)
Christine Frost, Program Director
(202) 590-0807

Application Material 
Potential applicants for NBRC funding will find all application information and guidance at the following link:

Applicants should clearly describe the nature of the project and why it is eligible. Such conclusions must be supported with documentation and consistent with the definitions found below.