
Section 1102.2 is amended as follows: 

(a)  Applicants for residential licensing must have at least [2,000] 1,000 hours of real estate appraisal experience over a 

period of not less than 24 months. 

(b)  Applicants for residential certification must have at least [2,500] 1,500 hours of real estate appraisal experience over a 

period of not less than 24 months. The residential experience must include experience in single-family, two-to-four family, 

cooperatives, condominiums, or other residential experience. 

(c)  Applicants for general certification must have at least 3,000 hours of experience over a period of not less than [30] 24 

months, of which, a minimum of [1500] 1,500 hours must be in non-residential appraisal work. 

Section 1103.2 is amended as follows: 

(a) Education requirements for New York State appraiser assistants. An applicant must satisfactorily complete the following 

courses within the five (5) year period prior to the date of submission of an appraiser assistant application: 

  
(1) Residential 5 (R-5) - Basic Appraisal Principles 30 hours 

(2) Residential 6 (R-6) - Basic Appraisal Procedures 30 hours 

(3) USPAP or its equivalent, as further defined in 15 hours 

section 1103.7 of this Part 

(4) Residential 7 (R-7) - Residential Market Analysis 15 hours 

and Highest and Best Use 

(5) Residential 8 (R-8) - Residential Appraisal Site 15 hours 

Valuation and Cost Approach 

(6) Residential 9 (R-9) - Residential Sales Comparison 30 hours 

and Income Approach 

(7) Residential 10 (R-10) - Residential Report 15 hours 

Writing and Case Studies 

(8) Supervisory Appraiser/Trainee Appraiser Course 4 hours 

Total 154 hours 

 

(b) Education requirements for New York State licensed real estate appraisers. 

  

 

(1) An applicant must satisfactorily complete the following courses: 

  
(i) Residential 5 (R-5)- Basic Appraisal Principles 30 hours 

(ii) Residential 6 (R-6)- Basic Appraisal Procedures 30 hours 

(iii) USPAP or its equivalent as further defined in 

section 1103.7 of this Part 15 hours 

(iv) Residential 7 (R-7)- Residential Market Analysis 

and Highest and Best Use 15 hours 

(v) Residential 8 (R-8)- Residential Appraisal Site 

Valuation and Cost Approach 15 hours 

(vi) Residential 9 (R-9)- Residential Sales Comparison 

and Income Approach 30 hours 

(vii) Residential 10 (R-10)- Residential Report Writing 

and Case Studies 15 hours 

Total 150 hours 

 

(2) In addition to the education requirements in paragraph 1 of this subdivision, a licensed real estate appraiser applicant 

must also satisfactorily complete two years of real property appraisal experience as provided in section 160-k of the 

Executive Law. [Applicants for a license as a real estate appraiser shall also successfully complete 30 semester hours of 

college-level education from an accredited college, junior college, community college or university, or hold an associate 

degree, or higher from an accredited college, junior college, community college or university. The college or university 

must be a degree-granting institution accredited by the Commission on Colleges, a regional or national accreditation 

association, or by an accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education. If an accredited college or 
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university accepts the College-Level Examination Program (CLEP) and examination(s) and issues a transcript for the 

exam showing its approval, it will be considered as credit for the college course. Applicants with a college degree from a 

foreign country may have their education evaluated for equivalency by one of the following: 

  

 

(i) An accredited, degree-granting domestic college or university; 

  

 

(ii) The American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers (AACRAO); 

  

 

(iii) A foreign degree credential evaluation service company that is a member of the National Association of 

Credential Evaluation Services (NACES); or 

  

 

(iv) A foreign degree credential evaluation service company that provides equivalency evaluation reports accepted 

by an accredited degree-granting domestic college or university or by a state licensing board that issues credentials 

in another discipline.] 

  

 

(c) Education requirements for a New York State certified residential real estate appraisers: 

  

 

(1) An applicant shall satisfactorily complete the following courses: 

  
(i) Residential 5 (R-5) Basic Appraisal Principles 30 hours 

(ii) Residential 6 (R-6) Basic Appraisal Procedures 30 hours 

(iii) USPAP or its equivalent, as further defined in 

section 1103.7 of this Part 15 hours 

(iv) Residential 7 (R-7) Residential Market Analysis 

and Highest and Best Use 15 hours 

(v) Residential 8 (R-8) Residential Appraisal Site 

Valuation and Cost Approach 15 hours 

(vi) Residential 9 (R-9) Residential Sales Comparison 

and Income Approach 30 hours 

(vii) Residential 10 (R-10) Residential Report Writing 

and Case Studies 15 hours 

(viii) Statistics, Modeling and Finance (SMF) 15 hours 

(ix) Residential 11 (R-11) Advanced Residential 

Applications and Case Studies 15 hours 

(x) Appraisal subject matter electives: Introduction 

to Residential Income Properties (RE-1), Fair 

Housing/Fair Lending and Environmental Issues 

(RE-2), or such other elective course approved by 

the Department. 20 hours 

Total 200 hours 

 

(2) In addition to the aforementioned education requirements, prospective licensees for a New York State certified 

residential real estate appraiser certification shall comply with the minimum qualifying education standards --- as 

established by the Appraiser Qualifications Boards pursuant to Title XI of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, 

and Enforcement Act of 1989 (Title XI) in the publication entitled: “Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria” 

(Effective May 1, 2018) (herein after “2018 AQB”) for qualifications for Certified Residential Real Property Appraisers 

--- appearing in Sections III.A; III.B.1., III.B.2., III.B.3., III.B.4., or III.B.5; or III.C, appearing on pages 19 to 20 of said 

publication, which is incorporated herein by reference. 

 (i) Copies of the 2018 AQB may be obtained from the publisher at the following address: 

 THE APPRAISAL FOUNDATION 

The Madison Building 

1155 15th Street NW, Suite 1111 

Washington, DC 20005 

 



Copies may also be obtained from the publishers’ website at: www.appraisalfoundation.org. 

 

(ii) Additional copies of the 2018 AQB may be obtained and are available for inspection and copying at: 

NYS Department of State 

Division of Licensing Services 

One Commerce Plaza 

99 Washington Avenue 

Albany, NY 12231-0001 

[In addition to the aforementioned education requirements, prospective licensees for a New York State certified 

residential real estate appraiser certification shall hold a bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or 

university. The college or university must be a degree-granting institution accredited by the Commission on Colleges, a 

regional or national accreditation association, or by an accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education. 

  

 

(3) Applicants with a college degree from a foreign country may have their education evaluated for equivalency by one 

of the following: 

  

 

(i) An accredited, degree-granting domestic college or university; 

  

 

(ii) The American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers (AACRAO); 

  

 

(iii) A foreign degree credential evaluation service company that is a member of the National Association of 

Credential Evaluation Services (NACES); 

  

 

(iv) A foreign degree credential evaluation service company that provides equivalency evaluation reports accepted 

by an accredited degree-granting domestic college or university or by a state licensing board that issues credentials 

in another discipline.] 

  

 

(d) Education requirements for a New York State certified general real estate appraisers. 

  

 

(1) An applicant shall satisfactorily complete the following courses: 

  
(i) Residential 5 (R-5) Basic Appraisal Principles 30 hours 

(ii) Residential 6 (R-6) Basic Appraisal Procedures 30 hours 

(iii) USPAP or its equivalent, as further defined in 

section 1103.7 of this Part 15 hours 

(iv) General 4(G-4) General Market Analysis 

and Highest and Best Use 30 hours 

(v) Statistics, Modeling and Finance (SMF) 15 hours 

(vi) General 5 (G-5) General Appraiser Sales Comparison 

Approach 30 hours 

(vii) General 6 (G-6) General Appraiser Site Valuation 

and Cost Approach 30 hours 

(viii) General 7 (G-7) General Appraiser Income Approach 60 hours 

(ix) General 8 (G-8) General Appraiser Report Writing 

and Case Studies 30 hours 

(x) Fair Housing, Fair Lending and Environmental Issues 

(GE-1) 15 hours 

(xi) Appraisal subject matter electives: 

(a) Specialty Appraisals (GE-2) 

(b) Using the HP12C Financial Calculator (GE-3); or 



(c) such other elective course approved by 

the Department. 15 hours 

Total 300 Hours 

 

(2) In addition to the aforementioned education requirements, prospective licensees for a NYS certified general real 

estate appraiser certification shall hold a bachelor’s degree, or higher, from an accredited college or university. The 

college or university must be a degree-granting institution accredited by the Commission on Colleges, a regional or 

national accreditation association, or by an accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education. 

  

 

(3) Applicants with a college degree from a foreign country may have their education evaluated for equivalency by one 

of the following: 

  

 

(i) An accredited, degree-granting domestic college or university; 

  

 

(ii) The American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers (AACRAO); 

  

 

(iii) A foreign degree credential evaluation service company that is a member of the National Association of 

Credential Evaluation Services (NACES); 

  

 

(iv) A foreign degree credential evaluation service company that provides equivalency evaluation reports accepted 

by an accredited degree-granting domestic college or university or by a state licensing board that issues credentials 

in another discipline. 

  

 

(e) Course attendance requirements. To earn credit for any appraisal course in this section, a prospective licensee must attend 

100 percent of the required instruction time. 

  

 

(f) Appraisal courses completed prior to January 1, 1991. A prospective licensee seeking credit for an appraisal course 

completed prior to January 1, 1991 shall submit a written request for approval to the Department and must show that the 

appraisal course substantially covered the same subject matter, classroom hours of attendance and completed standards as 

prescribed by this Part. Applications must contain an official transcript or other documentation showing the subjects taken, 

the hours of instruction devoted to each subject, the hours attended by the prospective licensee and the date the appraisal 

course was completed. The application must also contain a course description or outline from the appraisal school. The 

Department may request additional supportive documentation to determine course equivalency based on criteria approved by 

the NYS Board of Real Estate Appraisal. 

  

 

(g) Out-of-state courses. A prospective licensee who has taken an appraisal course in another state may apply to the 

Department for approval of that course. The application for approval of the course shall contain an original certification or 

transcript from the appraisal school showing the course title, date of course completion and the number of classroom hours 

attended. The Department will only consider awarding course credit if the prospective licensee attended the course and 

successfully completed a comprehensive final examination. The Department will only grant course approval in not less than 

15 hour segments. 

  


