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Information for Salon Workers 
 

Overview 
 
In May 2015, Governor Andrew M. Cuomo announced a multi-pronged effort to reform the nail 
salon industry in New York State. This reform aims to correct and prevent unlawful practices and 
unsafe working conditions. Governor Cuomo put together a multi-agency Task Force that includes 
the Department of Labor, Department of State and Department of Health. This Task Force will 
ensure that the reforms are put into action. The reforms include a comprehensive package of 
legislation and new emergency regulations, administrative changes, and an outreach campaign to 
educate workers, businesses and the public. 
 
The below information will help you understand your rights as a worker in the nail salon industry.  
If you have any questions or need to file a complaint, please call the Task Force Hotline at:  
888-469-7365. 
 

How to Get a License 
Anyone who is paid to cut, shape or enhance nails of the hands or feet, including applying or 
removing sculptured or artificial nails, is required by law to have a Nail Specialty license. 
 
To get a license, you must be at least 17 years of age. You do not need to be a citizen of the 
United States to get this license. The application for this license asks for your social security 
number and federal tax identification number. If you do not have one of these numbers, you may 
leave those sections blank and write a note to explain why. 
 
There are three ways you can get a license:  
 
Option 1: Complete 250 hours of Department of State-approved education and pass a  
written and practical exam. Exams are offered in English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese, Russian 
and Chinese. The Department of State is also translating the exam into Nepali, Tibetan and 
Vietnamese.  
 
Option 2: Complete comparable schooling in another state or country and pass both the New 
York State written and practical exams.  
 
Option 3: Submit proof of having five years of out-of-state experience in an occupation equivalent 
to nail specialty. This option does not require you to pass the New York State written and practice 
examinations.  
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New Requirements for Salons in New York State 
 
Equipment Requirements 
As of June 15, 2015, the owner of your salon must provide certain safety equipment at each 
workstation. The owner must give this equipment to you at no cost if you ask: 
 

• A properly fitting N-95 or N-100 respirator, approved by the National Institute for 
Occupational Safety and Health. You have the right to access and use a respirator when 
buffing or filing nails, or when using acrylic powder. 
 

• Protective gloves made of nitrile, or another similar non-permeable material for workers 
with a sensitivity to nitrile gloves. The owner of your salon must have a enough gloves 
available so that you can use a new pair for each customer. You have the right to access 
and wear gloves when handling potentially hazardous chemicals or waste and during 
cleanup, or when performing any nail service that has a risk of breaking the customer’s 
skin. 

 
• Protective eye equipment. You have the right to access and wear eye protection when 

preparing, transferring or pouring potentially hazardous chemicals. 
  
Posting Requirements 
The owner of your salon must post a “Bill of Rights” in a place where you and customers can 
easily view it. You have a right to the protections described on this sign. 
 
Bond or Liability Insurance 
The owner of your salon must obtain sufficient accident and professional liability coverage. In 
addition, if the owner has hired nail specialists that together perform more than 80 hours of nail 
specialty services per week, the owner is required to purchase and maintain a bond that includes 
coverage to guarantee your wages. A copy of these policies or bonds must be kept in the salon 
and be available to all workers during hours when the business is open. 
 

Proper Wages 
As a nail salon worker, you must be paid for every hour you work. This includes overtime and is 
true even if you are paid on “commission” or are inexperienced. Wages are calculated each week.  
 
If you are tipped and make at least $2.15/hour in tips, you must make at least: 
$6.60/hour during the first 40 hours per week and $10.98/hour after 40 hours per week. 
 
If you are tipped and make at least $1.30/hour in tips, you must make at least: 
$7.45/hour during the first 40 hours per week and $11.83/hour after 40 hours per week. 
 
If you are not tipped, you must make: 
$8.75/hour during the first 40 hours per week and $13.13/hour after 40 hours per week. 
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Proper Wages (cont.) 
 
Please note: the numbers on the previous page are minimums. If, for instance, you are paid at a 
higher hourly rate than $8.75, your overtime is calculated at 1.5 times that higher rate.  If you are 
paid at an hourly rate below $8.75, your overtime is $13.13, minus the amount of tip credit that 
your employer actually uses. 
 
A tip credit allows your employer to use a portion of your tips to cover the minimum wage. If you 
make less than $1.30 per hour in tips each week, your employer is not allowed a tip credit.  
 
Employers should never take your tips or wages or pay you less than the minimum wage, which is 
$8.75 per hour. You should never pay an employer: to apply for a position, to get a job, for 
training, as punishment, for breakage or any other reason. 
 

 
Career Services 

New York State offers a wide range of job search assistance. Many businesses use our centers to 
conduct on-site interviews. In addition, job placement specialists there can help you to target your 
job search.  
 
All services and resources described below are free of charge and are provided to workers 
through New York State Career Centers. These services are offered in multiple languages.  
 
Career Counseling 
Our counselors will help you assess your needs, skills and interests. They will guide you through a 
step-by-step approach to your job search and help you find out what skills you need to continue 
working in the nail salon industry or find other employment. Our counselors can also give you 
valuable local labor market information and wage data to help you in your search. 
 
Resume Development 
Expert staff will help you write and design a resume that gets results. We will show you how to 
tailor your resume for firms that use resume scanning software and how to market your skills on 
the Internet.  
 
Adult Basic Education/English as a Second Language 
We can refer you to free courses to get a high school equivalency diploma and/or to improve your 
English-language skills. 
 
Career Workshops 
You can explore topics in a group setting, including job-search strategies, networking, transferring 
skills, resume preparation, interview practice and computer skills. 
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Career Services (cont.) 
 
Self-Service Resources 
Job seekers can use our personal computers, which have high-speed Internet connections. You’ll 
learn how to use the Internet to locate jobs. We also have hardware and software for the visually 
impaired. 
 
We have telephones that allow you to speak privately to prospective employers. There are fax 
machines and copiers you can use at no charge, as well as a TDD/TTY line. 
 
Training Consultation 
We can help identify available short-term training for long-term careers. If you are interested in 
training opportunities, please speak to a Career Center counselor. 
 
Referrals to Other Community Resources 
Career Center staff can provide information about a variety of support services in your local 
community. 
 
To find your closest Career Center, visit: www.labor.ny.gov/career-center-locator or call: 888-
469-7365. 
 
Immigration Services 
We can refer you to free or low cost immigration assistance services when you visit a Career 
Center. You may also call the Office for New Americans hotline at: 1-800-566-7636 or visit: 
www.newamericans.ny.gov. 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 
Additional Assistance for Nail Salon Workers 

For more information about any service described above, to 
ask a question about your rights or to file a complaint, 
please call the Task Force Hotline at: 888-469-7365. 


