NEW YORK STATE DEPARMENT OF STATE - DIVISION OF LICENSING SERVICES
BARBER PRACTICAL EXAMINATION INFORMATION

PRACTICAL EXAMINATION SCHEDULING

Practical examinations MUST be scheduled through our online
services. Applicants are required to schedule their barber examination
on the New York State e-Licensing system. In order to schedule your
examination you must have a NY.gov ID account. If you do not have
an account you should go to the NYS License Center (NYSLC) at
https://aca.licensecenter.ny.gov/aca/ and click on the “I need a NY.gov
ID” link to create your account. If you already have NY.gov account
you should go directly to https://my.ny.gov/ to schedule your
examination.

A $15 non-refundable fee is due at the time you schedule your
examination. If you need to reschedule your examination, you MUST
do so at least six days before your scheduled examination date to avoid
penalty (forfeiture of $15 fee). Should you cancel your appointment,
arrive late to your scheduled examination, or do not appear for a
scheduled examination, you will forfeit the examination fee.

Note: If you have submitted the appropriate documentation to request
special testing arrangements, a representative from the Division of
Licensing Services will contact you with your exam schedule.

Address: NYS Department of State, Division of Licensing Services, One Commerce Plaza, P.O. Box 22001, Albany, NY 12201-2001

Shampooing Techniques (5 minutes)
Shaving - Facial Hair (15 minutes)
Facial Massage (10 minutes)

Clean Up of Work Area (5 minutes)

Examination procedure tasks and visual aids are available on our
website at www.dos.ny.gov.  The barber practical will take
approximately 1 % hours to complete from check-in to dismissal.
Safety and infection control procedures must be adhered to during the
entire examination. You must achieve a score of 70 percent to pass
this examination.

EXAMINATION RESULTS

You will be notified by email once the examination results become
available for viewing. Examination results will be available online by
utilizing My NY.gov Online Services. If you pass the practical
examination, you will automatically receive your New York State
Barber License in the mail. If you fail the exam, you can schedule
another examination by utilizing My NY.gov Online Services. Results
will NOT be given at the examination or over the telephone. You may
not appeal your examination results.

ADMITTANCE TO THE PRACTICAL

REQUESTING AN ANALYSIS

For admittance to this examination you MUST bring the following
items:

Photo Identification

You must bring a current valid government-issued form of
identification such as a driver’s license or US passport containing your
photograph and signature.

PREPARING FOR YOUR PRACTICAL

You should arrive for your examination with appropriate attire for
providing barbering services. Concerning appearance and
professionalism, you will be expected to conform to the following
regulations:

1)  Aclean barber jacket must be worn

2)  Closed-toe and closed-heel shoes that cover top of foot (no
canvas)

3)  Cell phone use is NOT permitted

4)  Hands washed with soap and water prior to your arrival

You must bring your own examination supplies and implements as
outlined on the supply list. Failure to provide any of the necessary
supplies and implements may preclude you from being allowed to
perform some of the examination procedures. Additionally, you will
demonstrate your proficiency of the examination procedures on a live

model. You must bring a model that meets the requirements specified
on the supply list or you will not be allowed to take this examination.

PRACTICAL EXAMINATION PROCEDURES

The barber practical examination consists of a series of tasks that you
must perform within an allotted time frame for each procedure. You
will be required to demonstrate the following procedures within the
specified time:

Professional Appearance, Preparation of Work Area & Client
Preparation (10 minutes)

Hair Cutting Techniques (30 minutes)
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If you fail your examination, you may request an analysis of your
practical examination. An analysis is a report or breakdown of your
practical examination scores to assist you in identifying your strengths
and weaknesses. You must request an analysis within 60 days of your
examination date. We will not provide analysis to individuals who
have achieved a passing mark on the practical examination.

CONTACT INFORMATION

You may contact the Department of State’s Practical Examination Unit
by calling (518) 474-2740 or, for general information, the Division of
Licensing Services at (518) 474-4429. Please feel free to visit our
website at www.dos.ny.gov for further licensing information. In the
event of inclement weather, please check our website to determine if
your exam will be given.
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