Coastal Hazards

Planning and Implementation Resources

New York State Department of State

Environmental Protection Fund – Local Waterfront Revitalization Program

Funding under Title 11 of the New York State Environmental Protection Fund, Local Waterfront Revitalization Program, is available to cities, towns, villages and counties to prepare, refine or implement Local Waterfront Revitalization Programs (LWRP). The LWRP encourages communities to plan for the future of their waterfronts and undertake improvement projects to implement their plans.


Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP), authorized under Sect. 404 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (“Stafford Act”)

75% federal, 25% other (state, local, both); funding available after a Presidential Disaster Declaration

The HMGP provides grants to States and local governments to implement long-term hazard mitigation measures after a major disaster declaration.  The purpose of the HMGP is to reduce the loss of life and property due to natural disasters and to enable adaptation measures to be implemented during the immediate recovery from a disaster. 

Examples of environmental quality projects for which funding may be provided, include: detention ponds/basins, stabilization of riverbanks/shorelines, purchase of land in hazard zones, acquisition and demolition or relocation, infrastructure improvements, restoration of sand dunes, and vegetation management programs.

Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) Program

75% federal, 25% non-federal

FEMA provides FMA funding to States and localities to implement measures that reduce or eliminate the long-term risk of flood damage to buildings, manufactured homes, and other structures insured under the National Flood Insurance Program.

Three types of FMA grants are available: planning grants, project grants, and management cost grants. Planning grants are for the preparation of Flood Mitigation Plans.  Only NFIP-participating communities with approved Flood Mitigation Plans can apply for project grants. Project grants are for the implementation of measures to reduce flood losses, such as elevation, acquisition, or relocation. Management cost grants are for the State to help administer the FMA program and activities.

Pre-Disaster Mitigation Grant Program (PDM)

75% federal, 25% non-federal; some small, impoverished communities may be eligible for up to a 90% federal cost-share.

The PDM program provides funds to states, territories, Indian tribal governments, communities, and universities for hazard mitigation planning and the implementation of mitigation projects prior to a disaster event.

Repetitive Flood Claims (RFC)

FEMA may contribute up to 100% of the total amount approved under the RFC grant award to implement approved activities.

Severe Repetitive Loss Program (SRL)

75% federal, 25% non-federal; up to 90% federal cost share for States and localities with FEMA-approved standard or enhanced mitigation plans. 

Purpose of the SRL program is to reduce or eliminate claims under the NFIP through project activities that will result in the greatest savings to the National Flood Insurance Fund.


Environmental Justice Small Grants Program

City, township, county government and its entities are eligible for funding to work on local solutions to local environmental problems and/or public health issues. FY10 focus areas include: improving air quality, managing chemical risks, cleaning up hazardous-waste disposal sites, reducing greenhouse gas emissions, and protecting America’s water.

Green Infrastructure Funding Opportunities

Long Island Sound Futures Fund

State and local government, non-profit organizations, for-profit entities, educational institutions, and interstate entities or regional water pollution control agencies are eligible for funding.  The Sounds Future Fund will emphasize implementation projects focused on protecting and restoring important fish and wildlife habitats and water resources on Long Island Sound.

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

North American Wetlands Conservation Act, (Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Number 15.623)

50% federal cost-share.

Funding assistance available to local governments to promote conservation of wetlands and associated habitats for migratory birds and other wildlife.

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

Disaster Recovery Assistance

Funding available to states and local governments following a Presidential Disaster Declaration. Examples of eligible activities include:

  • buying damaged properties in a flood plain and relocating residents to safer areas;
  • relocation payments for people and businesses displaced by the disaster;
  • debris removal not covered by FEMA;
  • rehabilitation of homes and buildings damaged by the disaster;
  • buying, constructing, or rehabilitating public facilities such as streets, neighborhood centers, and water, sewer and drainage systems;
  • code enforcement;
  • homeownership activities such as down payment assistance, interest rate subsidies and loan guarantees for disaster victims;
  • public services (generally limited to no more than 15 percent of the grant);
  • helping businesses retain or create jobs in disaster impacted areas; and
  • planning and administration costs (limited to no more than 20 percent of the grant).

Community Development Block Grant Entitlement Communities Program

Targets entitlement community grantees to carry out a wide range of community development activities directed toward revitalizing neighborhoods, economic development, and providing improved community facilities and services.  Eligible grantees include cities with populations of at least 50,000 and counties with populations of at least 200,000. Examples of eligible activities include:

  • acquisition of real property;
  • relocation and demolition;
  • rehabilitation of residential and non-residential structures;
  • construction of public facilities and improvements, such as water and sewer facilities, streets, neighborhood centers, and the conversion of school buildings for eligible purposes;
  • public services, within certain limits;
  • activities relating to energy conservation and renewable energy resources; and
  • provision of assistance to profit-motivated businesses to carry out economic development and job creation/retention activities.

Community Development Block Grant – State Administered Program

Targets low and moderate income people in non-entitlement areas.  Non-entitlement areas include cities with populations of less than 50,000 and counties with populations of less than 200,000.  Examples of eligible activities include:

  • acquisition of property for public purposes;
  • construction or reconstruction of streets, water and sewer facilities, neighborhood centers, recreation facilities, and other public works;
  • demolition;
  • rehabilitation of public and private buildings;
  • public services;
  • planning activities;
  • assistance to nonprofit entities for community development activities; and
  • assistance to private, for profit entities to carry out economic development activities (including assistance to micro-enterprises).