DOS Banner Graphic
Press Release

About DOS
Newsroom & Webcasts
Calendar of Events
Grant Opportunities
Current Grant/Funding/Bid Opportunities
Contact Us
Governor's Office
Listing of NY State Agencies
Subject Matter List of Available Records (doc)

For Immediate Release:
March 29, 2012
Contact: 518-486-9846
Follow us on Twitter @NYSDOS


ALBANY - New York Secretary of State Cesar Perales today announced the availability of up to $1.2 million in grant funding under a program administered by the Northern Border Regional Commission (NBRC). The funds are intended to alleviate economic distress and create jobs in 36 targeted counties in the four states that make up the Northern Border Region. The New York counties falling within the Northern Border Region and eligible for funding are: Cayuga, Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Oswego, Seneca, and St. Lawrence.

“This is an excellent way to spur economic development throughout the Northern Border Region,” said Secretary of State Cesar A. Perales. “These grants will provide qualified applicants with greatly needed assistance to help communities plan for sustainable growth, enable job creation, and boost the region’s quality of life.”

Eligible projects must develop the transportation, water, sewer, energy, and telecommunications infrastructure of the region; assist the region in obtaining job skills and employment related education, as well as entrepreneurship, technology and business development; provide basic health care and other public services for those areas that are severely economically distressed and underdeveloped; promote resource conservation, tourism, recreation, and preservation of open spaces in a manner consistent with economic development goals; and, promote the development of renewable and alternative energy sources. Municipalities and not-for-profits are encouraged to apply for up to $250,000 in the federal funds, not to exceed 80% of the total project cost.

The Department of State will accept and review applications and submit them to the NBRC for federal assistance. The Department of State will work closely with Local Development Districts in eligible areas to coordinate assistance to applicants.

Applications forms for NBRC grants, including additional information about the Northern Border Region and Local Development Districts, are available at Submissions must be postmarked by June 1, 2012 and mailed AND emailed to: New York Department of State, Attention Kyle Wilber, One Commerce Plaza, 99 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12231, (518) 473-3355.

In 2011, the NBRC, with the Department of State’s recommendation, provided New York $345,320 in grant funding to projects in Lewis and Jefferson counties. These projects will adaptively reuse existing sites to create new jobs and stimulate new investment in Northern New York.

The Clayton Local Development Corporation (CLDC) and the Lewis County Development Corporation were awarded $250,000 in NBRC funds for the installation of basic public utilities as part of the redevelopment of the Frink America site, a former brownfield on the St. Lawrence River. The CLDC plans to develop a 100-room hotel on the site, creating an estimated 80 full-time jobs.

Lewis County was also awarded $95,320 in NBRC funds to be used to assist with the rehabilitation of the Lyons Falls Rail Spur as part of the redevelopment of the abandoned Lyons Falls Mill site. The project will allow for the expansion of Aries Chemical Inc., a business that is currently at capacity. The expansion will enable the company to remain located within Lewis County.